Thinking about swapping GFCI outlets with GFCI breakers

Reply

  #1  
Old 09-22-19, 06:21 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2016
Location: USA
Posts: 170
Received 2 Votes on 2 Posts
Thinking about swapping GFCI outlets with GFCI breakers

Our house is three years old. When it was built, the electrician put GFCI outlets in the oddest places (garage, closet, etc.). Occasionally one will trip and then the hunt is on, especially at night!

I'm toying with the idea of locating the circuit each GFCI outlet is on and replacing the standard breaker with a GFCI breaker, then replacing the coordinating GFCI outlet with a standard outlet. This will allow me to immediately locate a tripped circuit without "the hunt".

I know it will cost in the ballpark of $100-$200, which is not a factor.

Is this an acceptable solution? Am I missing/forgetting something?

Any thoughts/ideas/suggestions/comments are welcome! Thanks!
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 09-22-19, 06:27 AM
Member
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: welland ontario
Posts: 6,668
Received 74 Votes on 68 Posts
I my opinion a better solution would be to replace all the receptacles on the circuit with GFCI receptacles and then do NOT use any of the LOAD connections. That way only the problem device will be dead on a trip.
 
  #3  
Old 09-22-19, 08:09 AM
Member
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 1,320
Received 6 Votes on 6 Posts
I just did last week exactly what jo said. There was one GFCI in the garage that fed both baths and one outside recept. Now all have their own GFCI. Plus, that gfci was some 20 years old.

Get a four pack from your fav distributor.
 
  #4  
Old 09-23-19, 10:50 AM
CasualJoe's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 9,978
Received 21 Votes on 16 Posts
I'm toying with the idea of locating the circuit each GFCI outlet is on and replacing the standard breaker with a GFCI breaker, then replacing the coordinating GFCI outlet with a standard outlet. This will allow me to immediately locate a tripped circuit without "the hunt".
Without the hunt? Maybe if the trip is strictly a nuisance trip, but if you have something plugged in with a ground fault you'll still have to hunt that device down before the circuit breaker can be reset.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: