Replacing double oven with 2 separate wall ovens

Old 09-22-19, 07:56 PM
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Replacing double oven with 2 separate wall ovens

We have a 40 am circuit, with 4-wire going to a combination double oven. We're replacing with 2 separate ovens, stacked configuration. The smaller oven takes 20 amp, 240V direct plug in. The larger oven will needs to be hard-wired to the 4-wire. Also takes 240 V, requires 20amp circuit. total Watts between both ovens is 5200, W, out old combination double oven drew 5500 Watts. Assuming we just need to split off the line coming in, add a plug in outlet for the smaller oven(240V), and feed each oven separately, off the 40 amp circuit?

Sponsored Links
Old 09-22-19, 10:21 PM
Received 2 Votes on 2 Posts
I'm not a electrician, nor do I play one on TV.

However IMHO, running a 20 amp oven off of a 40 amp circuit, could possibly create a fire hazard, since the oven could overload and the 40 amp breaker won't allow for it to trip properly.

I believe you'll need to run another wire and have two separate 20 amp breakers, having each oven on it's own dedicated circuit.

Old 09-23-19, 04:28 AM
Received 77 Votes on 71 Posts
NO that wont work. You need two 20 amp circuits. You could convert the existing 40amp to one of the 20 amp circuits you need.For the other unit you will need to run a new 20 amp 240 volt circuit.

Old 09-23-19, 06:45 AM
Received 21 Votes on 21 Posts
I am also not an electrician but I cannot see a problem hooking them up.

If the wattage you state is correct then you total draw will be 21.7 amps.
Add 20% if they are both continuously on you are still only drawing 26 amps.
So you have plenty of amperage to run them.
It basically is no different than running a cooktop and oven combo off of one breaker which is allowed.

Old 09-23-19, 07:00 AM