Go Back  DoItYourself.com Community Forums > Electrical, AC & DC. Electronic Equipment and Computers > Electrical - AC & DC
Reload this Page >

trying to replace a light switch with motion sensitive switch

trying to replace a light switch with motion sensitive switch


  #1  
Old 12-14-19, 11:51 PM
M
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2019
Posts: 32
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
replacing a light switch with a motion sensor

I am trying to replace a light switch with a motion-sensor switch. The current switch is lighted (i.e. it has a tiny light to help locate the switch in the dark).
Below is a picture of the current connections. It has 2 black wires and a ground wire. There is also a bunch of white wires tucked in but not connected to the switch (2nd picture).

Name:  s1.jpg
Views: 170
Size:  33.5 KB

Name:  s2.jpg
Views: 170
Size:  36.1 KB
 

Last edited by PJmax; 12-15-19 at 10:30 AM. Reason: resized pictures
  #2  
Old 12-15-19, 04:46 AM
Geochurchi's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 5,099
Received 161 Upvotes on 147 Posts
Hi, should be no problem, what type of sensor are you using?
Geo
 
  #3  
Old 12-15-19, 05:30 AM
Norm201's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: United States
Posts: 10,975
Received 729 Upvotes on 644 Posts
So what's your question? What don't you know how to connect?
The black wire is your power source. A switch (any switch) will open or close that power.
Post a pic of your new switch.
 
  #4  
Old 12-15-19, 09:15 AM
M
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2019
Posts: 32
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Here is the link to the product:
https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B0...?ie=UTF8&psc=1

Is there any way to guess which wire would be neutral? I have found that wires in my place are not properly color-coded.
 
  #5  
Old 12-15-19, 09:40 AM
pcboss's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 14,004
Received 206 Upvotes on 179 Posts
You do not have a neutral at the three way switch.

the single pole switch has a group of neutrals not connected to the switch.
 
  #6  
Old 12-15-19, 10:33 AM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Jersey
Posts: 65,963
Received 4,148 Upvotes on 3,725 Posts
You have a single pole switch with two black wires. With the switch turned off you need to measure for voltage on either one. The wire that has 120v on it is the LINE or HOT. The wire that has nothing on it is LOAD or LIGHT.
The white wire from the switch goes to the three white wire splice.
 
mrdoc voted this post useful.
  #7  
Old 12-25-19, 10:04 PM
M
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2019
Posts: 32
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Installed successfully.
Thanks
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: