switch/receptacle wiring

Reply

  #1  
Old 06-02-01, 05:49 AM
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
i am trying how to connect wiring for a combo switch/receptacle. Anyone tell me connection of wiring to it?
Thanks
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 06-02-01, 09:42 AM
Member
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: United States
Posts: 18,497
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
How many wires are there in this box to work with. If you answer "two, one black and one white", then I'm going to tell you that this job is impossible -- there is no way to wire it. If you answer "four, two black and two white" (or any other answer), then we'll provide further information based on your answer.
 
  #3  
Old 06-02-01, 10:36 AM
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
switch/wiring

Thanks for your reply. I have like you thought a impossible solution..Just 2 wires into box. Have to figure out how to run another live set to it.

Thanks for the reply.
 
  #4  
Old 06-02-01, 03:41 PM
Member
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: ottawa canada
Posts: 1,165
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
As John said under the current existing wiring it can't be done, if only 2 wires at the switch location, the source of power is at the the fixture and there is no neutral wire at the switch location.

You need an unswitched source for of power / hot & neutral.

 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: