switch/receptacle wiring


  #1  
Old 06-02-01, 06:49 AM
Guest
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
i am trying how to connect wiring for a combo switch/receptacle. Anyone tell me connection of wiring to it?
Thanks
 
  #2  
Old 06-02-01, 10:42 AM
J
Member
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: United States
Posts: 18,497
Upvotes: 0
Received 1 Upvote on 1 Post
How many wires are there in this box to work with. If you answer "two, one black and one white", then I'm going to tell you that this job is impossible -- there is no way to wire it. If you answer "four, two black and two white" (or any other answer), then we'll provide further information based on your answer.
 
  #3  
Old 06-02-01, 11:36 AM
Guest
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
switch/wiring

Thanks for your reply. I have like you thought a impossible solution..Just 2 wires into box. Have to figure out how to run another live set to it.

Thanks for the reply.
 
  #4  
Old 06-02-01, 04:41 PM
D
Member
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: ottawa canada
Posts: 1,164
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
As John said under the current existing wiring it can't be done, if only 2 wires at the switch location, the source of power is at the the fixture and there is no neutral wire at the switch location.

You need an unswitched source for of power / hot & neutral.

 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: