Junction Box with 1 incoming Hot and neutral wires

Reply

  #1  
Old 10-10-19, 08:07 PM
J
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2019
Posts: 3
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Junction Box with 1 incoming Hot and neutral wires

Currently I have a junction Box which contains an incoming hot wires black/white/ground wires and wires coming from a motion sensor light and wires coming from a hallway light and to wires going to a switch.
The problem is, the one switch control both, the motion sensor light and the hallway light.
I need to separate them to 2 switches.
What's the best way to do it?
 
  #2  
Old 10-10-19, 09:34 PM
J
Member
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: welland ontario
Posts: 7,719
Received 295 Votes on 254 Posts
If I understand correct there are four cables in this box.
1. to switch.
2. to motion light.
3. to hall light.
4. power from panel.

Where will the new switch be? Will that be another cable?
 
  #3  
Old 10-11-19, 07:53 AM
J
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2019
Posts: 3
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
The new switch could be anywhere, I don't think will matter.
So to clarify it more. Currently, they are 3 set of wires coming in to the junction box and 1 set of wires going to the switch.
What I want to do is:
3 set of wires coming in to the junction box and2 set of wires going to 2 switches. 1 switch to control the motion sensor light and another switch to control the hallway light.
So yes, an extra set of wires (cable) to go to another new switch.
 
  #4  
Old 10-11-19, 11:26 AM
J
Member
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: welland ontario
Posts: 7,719
Received 295 Votes on 254 Posts
By code your new cable should be three wire so that you have a neutral in the switch box.
After your new cable is in the box.
Take the new white and connect to other whites in the box(neutrals).
Take the new black and connect to the black bunch which should also have the white from the existing switch.
Remove the black to the hallway light from the black to the motion light and connect to the new red wire. Leave motion light black and existing switch black connected.
At new switch connect black and red to switch and cap white.
 
  #5  
Old 10-11-19, 12:28 PM
J
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2019
Posts: 3
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I am sorry, I don't have red wire. I only have a set of wires (black, white and ground).
I just want to separate the motion sensor light to a new switch by using the existing power in the junction box.
Thanks in advance for the reply.
 
  #6  
Old 10-11-19, 02:32 PM
J
Member
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: welland ontario
Posts: 7,719
Received 295 Votes on 254 Posts
You need to add a new cable to the motion sensor switch. By code that new cable has to have three wires in it.
 
  #7  
Old 10-11-19, 04:47 PM
Geochurchi's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: United States
Posts: 4,956
Received 88 Votes on 83 Posts
Hi, is one cable Hot all the time ie power between black and white.
Geo
 
  #8  
Old 10-12-19, 07:36 AM
A
Member
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 4,283
Received 109 Votes on 101 Posts
For this project to work, there must be a cable with power all the time on the black wire, coming into the junction box.

Nowadays (the current code) needs a 3 wire cable to the new switch box to provide for the power all the time for the switch, the neutral, and the switch controlled power going back to the junction box and then to the light. This is to allow, say, a future dimmer switch that requires (well most of them require) neutral together with incoming hot all the time to work properly.

Since you are installing a motion switch, which probably also needs neutral together with incoming hot all the time, you are dead in the water immediately with this project unless you install a 3 wire cable to the switch box.
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: