Two switch wiring help

Reply

  #1  
Old 10-13-19, 02:34 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: United States
Posts: 7
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Two switch wiring help

Recently purchase a new house built in 1995. I was updating the light switches and came across a challenge which I知 hoping to get help with. I値l upload the pic of how it was wired before and switch one used to have a timer switch for outside, and switch 2 never worked. Here is what I知 left with.

Wire One for Outside Lights: White/Black Wire. Black wire isn稚 hot
Wire Two No Clue: White/Black/Red/Ground
Wire Three for stair lights: white/black/red/ground

It seems like I would need a two way switch for Wire One, connecting black wire to another hot black, and then a three way switch for Wire 2 and Three.

Any thoughts how I can get this fixed. Thanks in advance.
 
Attached Images  
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 10-13-19, 03:28 PM
pcboss's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 14,948
Received 32 Votes on 27 Posts
Switch one looks like a 4 way. Switch 2 is a single pole.

Do you have two other switches that operate the same light as switch 1?

the black feeding both switches is the line feed in.
 
  #3  
Old 10-13-19, 03:34 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 53,245
Received 381 Votes on 358 Posts
Welcome to the forums.

It may be a case where they used the push-ins and the screw terminals.
We're going to need to see a picture or two...... How-to-insert-pictures.
 
  #4  
Old 10-13-19, 04:28 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: United States
Posts: 7
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Looks like both switches were using pushed in. Hope this helps.

Name:  sw.jpg
Views: 29
Size:  104.3 KB
 

Last edited by PJmax; 10-13-19 at 05:15 PM. Reason: resized/labeled picture
  #5  
Old 10-13-19, 04:32 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: United States
Posts: 7
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
That makes sense. I only know of one switch to turn on the lights but I知 in the dark as well. I致e tried all the switches that I know of in this house and they all work separately so I知 clueless. From your post seems like I should get a four way switch and a single pole and give it a shot again. Thanks.
 
  #6  
Old 10-13-19, 05:00 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: United States
Posts: 7
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Here is a diagram from the manufacturer. This makes sense a little. I have a porch light and two lights on the outside of the garage. Seems to me before one switch was controlling all the lights and now one switch would control the porch light and another for the garage. Just guessing here so any help/advice would be greatly appreciated. I wonder if the city would have any plans how this house was wired. Thanks.
 
Attached Images  
  #7  
Old 10-13-19, 06:06 PM
Member
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: welland ontario
Posts: 6,814
Received 87 Votes on 80 Posts
In your picture the wire labeled load black is actually the hot black. It is supplying power to the two switches.
The white on the switch is probably for the timer function
 
  #8  
Old 10-15-19, 08:50 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: United States
Posts: 7
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Appreciate everyone痴 help with this matter. I was able to figure out everything and all is working now. Thanks.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: