doorbell and humidifier using same transformer

Reply

  #1  
Old 10-16-19, 11:10 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2019
Posts: 1
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
doorbell and humidifier using same transformer

How should wires be connected for doorbell and humidifier that are using the same transformer? please show diagram
 

Last edited by gaddism; 10-16-19 at 11:12 AM. Reason: clarification
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 10-16-19, 12:05 PM
Norm201's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: United States
Posts: 7,520
Received 80 Votes on 74 Posts
I'm not an expert, but that does not seem right. The door bell should be on it's own dedicated transformer being tapped of the nearest light fixture or similar. The humidifier should be powered from the furnace power source and not piggy backed off any random existing transformer.

Experts, correct me if I'm wrong.
 
  #3  
Old 10-16-19, 02:24 PM
Geochurchi's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 4,036
Received 18 Votes on 18 Posts
Doorbells are normally 16 volts while humidifiers are 24 volts
Geo
 
  #4  
Old 10-16-19, 03:01 PM
Norm201's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: United States
Posts: 7,520
Received 80 Votes on 74 Posts
Some door bells are 24 volt. The thing I see wrong is the fact that both items are using the same transformer.
 
  #5  
Old 10-16-19, 04:04 PM
Member
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 1,370
Received 11 Votes on 11 Posts
Except for thursday in two weeks, the doorbell is hardly ever used. I seem to remember that doorbell transformers are impedance protected.
I dont see an issue here.
 
  #6  
Old 10-16-19, 06:50 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 53,245
Received 381 Votes on 358 Posts
Welcome to the forums.

Humidifier runs on 24vAC. Doorbell runs on 16vAC.

So you are going to install a 24vAC transformer to run both ?
A 16v won't run the humidifier.

In order to give you wiring diagrams we'd need to know that the model number is for the humidifier and if you are using a humidistat and what that model number is. We may need to see the furnace wiring too.

Something has to tell the humidifier when to run.
 
  #7  
Old 10-17-19, 05:20 AM
Norm201's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: United States
Posts: 7,520
Received 80 Votes on 74 Posts
I stand corrected or
Not to beat a dead horse, but...

I assume this is what the OP has.

 
  #8  
Old 10-17-19, 10:25 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 53,245
Received 381 Votes on 358 Posts
We need to hear from the OP. Too many unanswered questions to help properly.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: