Installing Subpanel

Old 06-01-01, 02:22 PM
Visiting Guest
Question

I have a large collection of woodworking tools. The new house I moved into has a garage that is not wired to handle them (all 4 outlets come off of a single 20A breaker). To make life easy, I want to install a subpanel off of the main panel (there are 8 open slots). Based on the loads of the equipment I estimate I need 4 breakers in the subpanel: a 220v/30A and 3 110v/20A. Maximum running load at any given time is about 50A (the 220v load and a 110v load). Local contractors/electricians want $500 and won't discuss the how-to's with me. I have a lot of experience with wiring and have the basic know-how of installing breakers, but not subpanels. Guidance would be greatly appreciated.

Old 06-01-01, 03:28 PM
Received 11 Upvotes on 8 Posts
Can't help you alot here. I too, am thinking to rewiring my garage to have subpanel in it. Only one suggestion: Have lighting on its own circuit. Mine isn't right now and once in a while will blow breaker when running power tools. Nothing worse than waiting for tool to wind down while standing in the dark

Old 06-02-01, 07:24 PM
RickM
Visiting Guest
Cool

I would say that spending the $500 seems to be a fair way of getting this work do, and (hopefully) done correctly. there are alot of variables that go into adding a subpanel, as you can tell from all the different posts here concerning subpanels. check out these posts, and then decide if it is worth it to try it yourself. sure it can be done yourself, but is it worth it? Your call.

Either way, good luck.

Rick Miell

Old 06-02-01, 09:23 PM
Visiting Guest