Does a CGFI outlet need to be first in a series?

Reply

  #1  
Old 10-22-19, 04:16 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: United States
Posts: 53
Received 1 Vote on 1 Post
Does a CGFI outlet need to be first in a series?

The first outlet in a series in my kitchen is the perfect place for a USB plug (I looked for one that was CGFI too but no luck) and would like to move the CGFI to the next outlet. I have heard different things that it doesn't matter but I'm not so sure about that.
Can someone confirm whether the CGFI has to be first or not?
Thanks for your time
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 10-22-19, 04:19 PM
Norm201's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: United States
Posts: 7,520
Received 80 Votes on 74 Posts
Does not need to be first, but any outlets before it are not protected, any outlets after are.
However, I do believe all kitchen outlets must be GFCI. That's current code. If you home was built to that code then you will be violating it and if a fire should occur insurance may not cover.
 
drumz voted this post useful.
  #3  
Old 10-22-19, 04:30 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: United States
Posts: 53
Received 1 Vote on 1 Post
Yea, I was afraid of that, wish I had thought of it when I wired the kitchen because I could've ran the homerun further to make the current second outlet the first.
Oh well.
Thanks for your help!
 
  #4  
Old 10-22-19, 04:32 PM
Norm201's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: United States
Posts: 7,520
Received 80 Votes on 74 Posts
You could install a GFCI circuit breaker switch at the breaker box and solve all your problems.
 
  #5  
Old 10-22-19, 04:43 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: United States
Posts: 53
Received 1 Vote on 1 Post
True but then I'd have to go down to the basement if it tripped. Dang, hindsight is always 1000%
 
  #6  
Old 10-22-19, 05:24 PM
Member
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: welland ontario
Posts: 6,814
Received 87 Votes on 80 Posts
How often do you trip it? I hope never.
 
  #7  
Old 10-22-19, 05:35 PM
Tolyn Ironhand's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Twin Cities, MN
Posts: 12,967
Received 59 Votes on 52 Posts
Do you mean a GFCI or a CAFCI? I have not heard of a CGFI.
 
  #8  
Old 10-22-19, 08:15 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: United States
Posts: 53
Received 1 Vote on 1 Post
HaHa
If I knew what I meant would I be here?
 
CasualJoe voted this post useful.
  #9  
Old 10-23-19, 11:03 AM
CasualJoe's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 10,059
Received 26 Votes on 20 Posts
I do not believe a USB outlet needs to be GFCI protected unless, of course, it's a combination USB with a 120 volt receptacle too.


Use one like this:

https://www.amazon.com/Maxxima-Horiz...39445825&psc=1
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: