New Cooktop Ground doesnt reach

Reply

  #1  
Old 10-24-19, 10:52 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2018
Location: USA
Posts: 33
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
New Cooktop Ground doesnt reach

I'm installing a new ceramic cooktop; just drop it in and connect 3 wires, right? Except there's an extended box and the ground block is way in the back, and the ground wire from the cooktop doesn't reach. What's the best way to solve this? I don't have a conduit cutting tool; I'm afraid to pigtail it.
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 10-24-19, 11:30 AM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 53,567
Received 413 Votes on 387 Posts
Not quite following you.....

The cooktop has a metal flex whip on it ?
 
  #3  
Old 10-24-19, 02:29 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2018
Location: USA
Posts: 33
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
yes, they all come that way. Pre-fab wiring with about 30" of conduit and 3 6" wires. It looks like it might just be long enough. fingers crossed; I'll know tomorrow
 
  #4  
Old 10-24-19, 02:37 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 53,567
Received 413 Votes on 387 Posts
Yes.... I know how they come. Just not sure what the issue is.
There should be three equal length wires in the whip.
There should be three equal length supply wires.
 
  #5  
Old 10-24-19, 03:18 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2018
Location: USA
Posts: 33
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Exactly. And the "equal length" of the ground wire may not be long enough to reach the ground block. There's an extended box and the ground block is 4" back on the bottom. So it's going to be a stretch.

I see now that I *could* cut the drywall and insert the wires into the regular box. Its behind a panel so aesthetics wont apply.
 
  #6  
Old 10-24-19, 03:31 PM
pcboss's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 14,956
Received 33 Votes on 28 Posts
You can splice on additional conductor so it reaches.

the flex also needs a connector installed to hold it to the box.
 
Mr.Awesome voted this post useful.
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: