Generator connection amps?

Reply

  #1  
Old 10-31-19, 08:57 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2019
Posts: 1
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Generator connection amps?

I have a 20 amp, 4 prong inlet on my house. I just bought an 8000 watt, 30 amp 4 prong generator. Will that work? Amp wise.
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 10-31-19, 09:43 PM
Member
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: welland ontario
Posts: 6,861
Received 96 Votes on 88 Posts
What does the inlet connect to inside the house?
What gauge wire is connected to the inlet?
 
  #3  
Old 11-01-19, 05:41 AM
Member
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 3,602
Received 24 Votes on 24 Posts
The extension cord connected to the (female) receptacle that plugs onto the inlet may not have a (male) plug at the other end rated more than 20 amps which other end may not be plugged into a source delivering more than 20 amps.(... unless such cord has a box in the middle containing a breaker or other overcurrent protection for not more than 20 amps.)
 
  #4  
Old 11-01-19, 08:55 AM
Member
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: United States, Virginia
Posts: 1,182
Received 25 Votes on 20 Posts
Yes you can by using a 30 Amp 240-Volt to 20 Amp 240-Volt Outlet Adapter. Home Depot sells them. SKU #1000029737

https://www.google.com/imgres?imgurl...act=mrc&uact=8
 
  #5  
Old 11-01-19, 03:24 PM
Member
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 3,602
Received 24 Votes on 24 Posts
SKU #1000029737
There had better be (jolly well be) a circuit breaker inside, resettable using the red switch on the side, to trip at 20 amps.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: