Generator connection amps?


  #1  
Old 10-31-19, 07:57 PM
B
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2019
Posts: 1
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Generator connection amps?

I have a 20 amp, 4 prong inlet on my house. I just bought an 8000 watt, 30 amp 4 prong generator. Will that work? Amp wise.
 
  #2  
Old 10-31-19, 08:43 PM
J
Member
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: welland ontario
Posts: 7,874
Received 320 Votes on 276 Posts
What does the inlet connect to inside the house?
What gauge wire is connected to the inlet?
 
  #3  
Old 11-01-19, 04:41 AM
A
Member
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 4,445
Received 128 Votes on 117 Posts
The extension cord connected to the (female) receptacle that plugs onto the inlet may not have a (male) plug at the other end rated more than 20 amps which other end may not be plugged into a source delivering more than 20 amps.(... unless such cord has a box in the middle containing a breaker or other overcurrent protection for not more than 20 amps.)
 
  #4  
Old 11-01-19, 07:55 AM
P
Member
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: United States, Virginia
Posts: 1,571
Received 143 Votes on 116 Posts
Yes you can by using a 30 Amp 240-Volt to 20 Amp 240-Volt Outlet Adapter. Home Depot sells them. SKU #1000029737

https://www.google.com/imgres?imgurl...act=mrc&uact=8
 
  #5  
Old 11-01-19, 02:24 PM
A
Member
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 4,445
Received 128 Votes on 117 Posts
SKU #1000029737
There had better be (jolly well be) a circuit breaker inside, resettable using the red switch on the side, to trip at 20 amps.
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: