No power on one circuit

Reply

  #1  
Old 11-01-19, 02:25 PM
G
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2019
Posts: 2
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
No power on one circuit

I have 2 bedrooms and 2 bathrooms that run from one breaker, suddenly lost power to all rooms. Power at the breaker tests good, GFI in the bathroom does not test or reset so I replaced it still no power. I was told maybe a loose ground somewhere so I removed all outlet covers and switch covers and all wiring appears to be tight and intact. How can I proceed?
 
  #2  
Old 11-01-19, 02:36 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 60,828
Received 1,331 Votes on 1,230 Posts
Welcome to the forums.

A GFI receptacle won't reset unless it has power.
I'm assuming this is an older house because bathrooms have been required to be on their own circuits for many years.

You don't have a ground problem. You have an open neutral or hot wire.
Only a meter could ascertain that.

Do you know everything on that circuit ?
Is some working and some not ?
The problem will be between the last working device on that circuit and the first non working device.
Remove any wiring from push-in terminals on the back of devices.
 
  #3  
Old 11-02-19, 02:52 AM
G
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2019
Posts: 2
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Reply

It is a manufactured home, about 19 years old, nothing at all on the circuit works it starts with laundry room light in the same room as the electric box so I should disconnect those light switches?
 
  #4  
Old 11-02-19, 08:49 AM
Z
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 5,551
Received 157 Votes on 139 Posts
Each device on that circuit is wired daisy-chain. So if a wire got loose at device #2, devices 3,4,5... will stop working.

My guess is a receptacle with a "back-stab" (wire just pushed into the back of the receptacle) is to blame. They tend to fail over time as the spring loosens.

Figure out which receptacles/switches aren't working - turn off the power and confirm the connections are all solid. I'd suggest replacing any switch/receptacle thats' back-stabbed with a decent quality ($2-3 receptacle) and rewire them using the screw terminals.
 
  #5  
Old 11-03-19, 10:52 AM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 60,828
Received 1,331 Votes on 1,230 Posts
Manufactured homes sometimes use all backstabbed devices.
Do your devices look like in the picture ?

Name:  19-2433-2.jpg
Views: 51
Size:  36.2 KB
 
  #6  
Old 11-04-19, 10:45 AM
CasualJoe's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: United States
Posts: 10,758
Received 97 Votes on 87 Posts
I
It is a manufactured home

With electrical problems and most power out?
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: