Doorbell

Reply

  #1  
Old 11-02-19, 01:41 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2019
Posts: 1
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Doorbell

I must be crazy. My doorbell worked fine. My wife wanted a new one, so i told her I would install it. When I connect it, it keeps chiming over and over, but just an abbreviated version of the actual chime. Then when I press the button, it chimes correctly. Here's the rub: it won't work again after that. It's still lit, but when I press the button, no sound. If I disconnect one of the wires, then re-connect it, it all happens again. Totally perplexed. Any advice?
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 11-02-19, 05:39 AM
Member
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: welland ontario
Posts: 6,867
Received 96 Votes on 88 Posts
What type of button did you install compared to the old one?
Is the new one lighted and the old was not lighted?
 
  #3  
Old 11-02-19, 09:39 AM
maarkr's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: United States
Posts: 320
Received 4 Votes on 2 Posts
different voltage requirement for the new bell? make sure your output for your transformer is the same voltage as the new bell.
 
  #4  
Old 11-03-19, 10:48 AM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 53,548
Received 408 Votes on 384 Posts
Welcome to the forums.

If it chimes over and over...... it's an electronic chime and probably requires a diode at the pushbutton. It should be talked about in the manual. You can post the model number of the chime unit.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: