Can't figure out how to wire new light switches

Reply

  #1  
Old 11-16-19, 01:13 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: United States
Posts: 21
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Can't figure out how to wire new light switches

I have a box with 2 really old light switches that get stuck so trying to replace them but it's a bit confusing in there. There are 3 sets of wires coming in to the box, each set has a black, white and ground.

The 2 old switches were wired this way: Switch1 had 2 of the black wires going to it. Switch2 had a black and a white wire going to it. The remaining 2 white wires were wire nutted together and all of the ground were together.

My new switches I'm trying to install each have a black, white, red, and green and says that the neutral is required for these switches. How do I make this work???


Thanks in advance!
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 11-16-19, 01:39 PM
Member
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 1,243
Received 18 Votes on 17 Posts
The switch that had both black and white wires going to the switch is a switch loop. It has power at the light fixture, then it is controlled by feeding power to white wire and switched power back on black wire.

In this case, you normally don't have neutral in the junction box and cannot use a smart switch requiring a neutral wire.

However, in your case looks like your other switch is not a switch loop and actually has a neutral. It is very likely that switch 1 and switch 2 is fed by different circuit (breaker) and you cannot connect neutral from 2 different circuits. So, you will have to rewire wiring at the light fixture controlled by switch 2 so that the light is powered from circuit feeding the switch 1.
Some pictures of inside of switch junction box and light junction box will be helpful.

White wires wire nutted together will be your neutral, which connects to white wire from your new switch. green goes to bare ground wire. black goes to live wire, which will be one of the black wires. This is the one that is always hot regardless of switch position. You will have to figure this out with a multimeter or non-contact tester. Red wire goes to wire going to the light (which will remaining black wire.)
 
  #3  
Old 11-16-19, 01:48 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 53,582
Received 416 Votes on 389 Posts
You are not replacing a switch for a switch, You are removing a switch and adding a smart switch. A lot of older wiring was not set up for a connection like that.
 
  #4  
Old 11-16-19, 01:50 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: United States
Posts: 21
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
See image. I tried to color code it.

The bright orange wires went to Switch2.
The blue are both black wires (even though one looks white) and went to Switch1.
The brownish are the 2 white wires that were together.
All the grounds which I did not color code were together.

 
  #5  
Old 11-16-19, 02:33 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 53,582
Received 416 Votes on 389 Posts
Can you give us a picture from a little further out.
It looks like three wires on the orange side.

On the blue side...... one blue is line...... one is load and the white splice is neutral.
 
  #6  
Old 11-16-19, 07:11 PM
Member
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 1,243
Received 18 Votes on 17 Posts
We need the picture to show the switches to confirm your description.
Also, if you have a switch loop like in your description, then also need to see the wiring in the light fixture as it will require some rewiring.
 
  #7  
Old 11-17-19, 08:14 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: United States
Posts: 21
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Sorry - wasn't understanding what we were trying to get to. Getting to the wiring of the light will be extremely difficult as it's very high up.

Hopefully this picture helps to elaborate on my explanation:

Name:  sws.jpg
Views: 31
Size:  106.3 KB

 

Last edited by PJmax; 11-17-19 at 08:32 AM. Reason: imported picture
  #8  
Old 11-17-19, 08:28 AM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 53,582
Received 416 Votes on 389 Posts
You can install a smart switch in the left side.
You cannot in the right side as you don't have a neutral for that circuit.
 
  #9  
Old 11-17-19, 08:51 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: United States
Posts: 21
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Okay, so how can I wire it? From the new switch I have a black, a red, a white and a green.

Which of the 2 black ones going to the current one go to the black and which to the red? Which of the 2 neutrals currently together goes to the new switch?
 
  #10  
Old 11-17-19, 08:53 AM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 53,582
Received 416 Votes on 389 Posts
You need a way to test the two black wires for power. One will be always live.

Black from switch to always live black wire.
Red from switch to the other black wire that is not live.
White from switch goes to the two white wire splice.
Green goes to the bare copper wiring.
 
  #11  
Old 11-17-19, 11:44 AM
Member
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: welland ontario
Posts: 6,877
Received 96 Votes on 88 Posts
If the light is on the ceiling(most are) then cable going out the top is most likely the light. It gets the red wire. The cable coming in from the bottom is most likely the power feed and gets the black wire.
 
  #12  
Old 11-17-19, 12:52 PM
Member
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 1,243
Received 18 Votes on 17 Posts
Others have explained how to wire left switch.
With right switch, you cannot wire a smart switch directly, but you may be able to just use power going to left switch instead. That will require some rewiring at the light fixture. That is why I was asking for the picture.

I also noticed ground wires are not connected. All ground wires should be connected together (regardless of which circuit it came from) and also to each switch.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: