Can someone help me fix this light switch mess up?

Reply

  #1  
Old 11-17-19, 01:47 PM
P
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: usa
Posts: 25
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Can someone help me fix this light switch mess up?

Name:  20191117_153313.jpg
Views: 66
Size:  3.93 MB



I have a double box that has four toggle switches in it. One of the switches broke and I am trying to replace it but the new switch has a different configuration than the old one and now none of the switches work.

I tried to attach a picture, hopefully it worked, if not I will try again. There are 9 wires coming from the box. I have numbered the hot wires in red. There is also a wire connected between 2 screws on one of the switches that isn't connected to the box.

Help?
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 11-17-19, 01:50 PM
P
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: usa
Posts: 25
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Name:  20191117_153906.jpg
Views: 64
Size:  2.45 MB

Here are the switches.
 
  #3  
Old 11-17-19, 01:54 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 55,199
Received 595 Votes on 560 Posts
Why didn't you take pictures before removing the old devices ?????
 
  #4  
Old 11-17-19, 02:03 PM
P
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: usa
Posts: 25
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Cause I'm a dummy.

Seriously, I thought I kept track of the wires fairly well, they are still in the same order they came off just when I reconnect them in the same order nothing works.
 
  #5  
Old 11-17-19, 02:10 PM
P
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: usa
Posts: 25
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Seriously though, one switch does still work. It now turns on a bathroom light that it never turned on before instead of the porch light it used to turn on.
 
  #6  
Old 11-17-19, 02:12 PM
pugsl's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: United States
Posts: 8,648
Received 32 Votes on 29 Posts
Do you have a volt meter? We need to know what wires are hot (120 volts) Picture shows 2 black and 1 white hot but usually only blacks are hot. You may have a switch loop or something we can't see in box.
 
  #7  
Old 11-17-19, 02:26 PM
P
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: usa
Posts: 25
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
The ones numbered in red are hot. The ones labeled in yellow are not.
 
  #8  
Old 11-17-19, 10:31 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 55,199
Received 595 Votes on 560 Posts
You are going to need a voltmeter. You need to confirm that everything in that box is on one circuit. If it's on two circuits it will be doubly hard to figure out.

Use the meter to verify the four wires you have marked as hot are actually hot. A non contact tester is not reliable enough for this type of repair.
 
  #9  
Old 11-18-19, 07:51 AM
P
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: usa
Posts: 25
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I'll borrow a good meter from work and check when I get home tonight and let you know.

They are on two different circuits, but I'm certain that I didn't cross the wires - as in, the wires on the left side were all attached to the left switch and the wires on the right side were all attached to the right switch. That I did make sure to keep track of. The problem is that for whatever reason, the old configuration of which wire goes on which post isn't working for the new switches.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: