Siemens quad legs

Reply

  #1  
Old 11-22-19, 08:51 PM
Q
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,761
Received 1 Vote on 1 Post
Siemens quad legs

On a Siemens quad, eg a 15-20/20-15,
are the top and bottom (outside) breakers always on different legs?
 
  #2  
Old 11-22-19, 08:59 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 60,928
Received 1,348 Votes on 1,246 Posts
Yes......

15 - leg A
20 - leg A
20 - leg B
15 - leg B
 
  #3  
Old 11-22-19, 09:48 PM
J
Member
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: welland ontario
Posts: 7,733
Received 300 Votes on 257 Posts
You can confirm this with a voltage measurement. You should get 240 volts between them.
 
  #4  
Old 11-23-19, 09:29 AM
Q
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,761
Received 1 Vote on 1 Post
Thanks. On another note, if I put a single pole 15A it seems to fill up the A and B slot at the same time.
i thought it could only be one leg?
 
  #5  
Old 11-23-19, 09:42 AM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 60,928
Received 1,348 Votes on 1,246 Posts
The Siemens quad breaker is 4 half size breakers attached together to use a standard two breaker space.

If you use a half size breaker...... you can put two on the same leg.
A standard size breaker takes up one slot on only one leg.
 
  #6  
Old 11-23-19, 09:59 AM
Q
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,761
Received 1 Vote on 1 Post
The standard size takes up one slot but it's across A and B on the labels. Seems weird.
same with a double pole standard it goes across ABAB the same space as a quad
 
  #7  
Old 11-23-19, 10:04 AM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 60,928
Received 1,348 Votes on 1,246 Posts
I'm not sure what you are seeing but a single pole breaker cannot connect to both legs as that would be creating a dead short.
 
  #8  
Old 11-23-19, 10:26 AM
Q
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,761
Received 1 Vote on 1 Post
I get what you're saying it should be
A
A
B
B

But my labeling seems to say
A
B
A
B
Picture....
Panel https://imgur.com/gallery/7GnmdRW
 
  #9  
Old 11-23-19, 10:57 AM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 60,928
Received 1,348 Votes on 1,246 Posts
That lettering is just for the ease in labeling 1/2 size breakers.
It has nothing to do which leg on the service it's on.

1A, 1B, 2A, 2B are all on the A leg of the panel.
3A, 3B, 4A, 4B are all on the B leg of the panel.
Etc....
 
  #10  
Old 11-23-19, 11:02 AM
Q
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,761
Received 1 Vote on 1 Post
So both top breakers (left and right) are on A?
ie it's
A A
A A
B B
B B

Not
A B
A B
B A
B A
 
  #11  
Old 11-23-19, 11:08 AM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 60,928
Received 1,348 Votes on 1,246 Posts
Yes...... this picture should help.

Name:  panel.jpg
Views: 76
Size:  53.2 KB
 
  #12  
Old 11-23-19, 12:26 PM
A
Member
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 4,298
Received 110 Votes on 102 Posts
Siemens usually uses L1 and L2 instead of A and B to refer to the legs of the power feed (also L3 instead of C for 3 phase).

This eliminates the ambiguity discussed in the last few replies.

Even if (I don't know of any examples) the individual breakers in a double wide quad breaker unit were connected to L1, L2, L1, L2 in order via the usual two fins underneath, it will still work correctly if you connected one 240 volt circuit and handle tie to the two outer terminals and connected a second 240 volt circuit and handle tie to the two middle terminals.
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: