Go Back  DoItYourself.com Community Forums > Electrical, AC & DC. Electronic Equipment and Computers > Electrical - AC & DC
Reload this Page >

How To Install a Battery Level Indicator in a Charging Station

Old 11-25-19, 09:38 PM
P
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts

I have a battery level indicator (5-segment) that I am trying to incorporate into a charging station. The indicator just has + and - terminals to connect the battery. But when I try to incorporate this into a 5V charging station, the indicator displays the correct battery level until I apply the 5V charging source. Then the indicator displays the battery is full. How should I make this work as expected--always display the battery's actual level, even when charging? Thanks!

Old 11-26-19, 05:51 AM
A
Received 110 Votes on 102 Posts
You need electronics between the charging power source, the battery, and the meter. I am not an expert here so I do not know what that electronics has to consist of.

All battery charging involves connecting a DC source with voltage higher than what the battery is delivering so as to "push" electricity into the battery :"backwards" namely positive of the charging source to positive terminal of the battery.

The electronics should vary the charging voltage depending on the level of charge in the battery so far. The electronics is supposed to provide a voltage from separate terminals (not the battery terminals) to apply to the charge meter that depends on the amperes flowing in the charging circuit and the voltage across the battery terminals.

Old 11-26-19, 06:01 AM
P
Group Moderator
Received 755 Votes on 694 Posts