10v doorbell - need transformer for Ring doorbell pro

Reply

  #1  
Old 12-03-19, 09:37 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2019
Posts: 3
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
10v doorbell - need transformer for Ring doorbell pro

Hi all! New member and home owner. The SO purchased a ring doorbell, and was very excited about it. I got to looking at our existing doorbell, and it appears that it is 10v, which is not up to the minimum requirement of the Ring. It is a Rittenhouse Model 225 - 10 volts, which appears very old...maybe original to the house(1956). Iíve been doing some research, and many people suggest I can just change the transformer. If I get a larger transformer, is that something that would overpower my doorbell? Would I have to upgrade the doorbell as well, if I wanted to install the ring as well? I will be getting a voltmeter soon to help troubleshoot. Any information will be greatly appreciated.
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 12-03-19, 11:27 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 53,582
Received 416 Votes on 389 Posts
Welcome to the forums.

The Ring pro requires a 16v 30va transformer to run the unit and the chime.
You can use a 16v 20va if there is no chime involved.
Yes..... you'd need to upgrade the chime unit too.

My recomendation for a transformer....
 
  #3  
Old 12-04-19, 07:38 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2019
Posts: 3
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Thanks @Pjmax!

That is what my assumption was. If I upgrade the transformer and the chime, should I be concerned about the increased power flowing through the wires that connect the transformer to the chime? Sorry, I am a n00b when it comes to this.
 
  #4  
Old 12-04-19, 08:09 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2019
Posts: 3
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Or - If I didn't connect it to the chime at all, could I just upgrade the transformer?
 
  #5  
Old 12-04-19, 09:42 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 53,582
Received 416 Votes on 389 Posts
We're only talking about a small current increase.
20va @ 16v is just over 1amp.
30va @ 16v is just about 2amp.

You wiring can safely handle 5A or better.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: