Torquing screwdriver?

Reply

  #1  
Old 12-14-19, 05:49 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Canada, Quebec
Posts: 1,612
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Torquing screwdriver?

I did some minor work on some circuits and tightened the lugs as much as I could. An electrician came in for another item and rechecked then and tightened some more?
how tight is too tight - it seemed like he might have even squashed the conductor?

So, on that note what is a good torquing screwdriver to get?
 
Sponsored Links

Popular Reply

 
12-15-19, 07:07 AM
Norm201's Avatar
Norm201
Norm201 is offline
Member
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: United States
Posts: 7,774
Received 108 Votes on 99 Posts
Here's a case of common sense. They need to firm enough that it takes an effort to loosen the screws on a receptacle. But no so tight that you deform the wire or break the casing of the plug.
 
  #2  
Old 12-14-19, 06:54 PM
Member
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 1,439
Received 15 Votes on 15 Posts
I use this one:

1/4 in. Drive Dual-Direction Click Torque Wrench (10-150 in.-lb.)TEKTON TRQ21101

for the large terms i use a 50-ft lb 3/8 drive
 
  #3  
Old 12-14-19, 07:09 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Canada, Quebec
Posts: 1,612
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
If you do it without how tight is tight?
I'm presuming you shouldn't flatten the conductor ?
 
  #4  
Old 12-14-19, 08:13 PM
Member
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 1,439
Received 15 Votes on 15 Posts
Tighter than u might guess. Specs come with the panels.
 
  #5  
Old 12-14-19, 09:07 PM
pcboss's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 14,983
Received 35 Votes on 30 Posts
The conductor should not be flattened. That is way too tight.
 
  #6  
Old 12-15-19, 06:59 AM
Member
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 1,439
Received 15 Votes on 15 Posts
I think the 2020 code has some aggressive language regarding the mandatory use of calibrated torque devices. Our kitchen was the subject of a remodel. lots of poorly fastened receptacles. When you can simply move the wired receptacle and see the side screws rotate, its too loose.
 
  #7  
Old 12-15-19, 07:07 AM
Norm201's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: United States
Posts: 7,774
Received 108 Votes on 99 Posts
Here's a case of common sense. They need to firm enough that it takes an effort to loosen the screws on a receptacle. But no so tight that you deform the wire or break the casing of the plug.
 
cwbuff, marksr voted this post useful.
  #8  
Old 12-15-19, 07:21 AM
Member
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 1,439
Received 15 Votes on 15 Posts
The items i reference above i find more suitable for a panel, not really great for a switch or recept u have in the hand. For the small, loose devices, i would select a rotary preset handle with interchangeable bits. The square drive bit is pretty good for keeping the bit engaged so it wont find itself into your palm. You will find the 20-30 in-lb range popular for #10 screws.

https://www.amazon.com/Olsa-Tools-Sc...42393108&psc=1
 
  #9  
Old 12-16-19, 07:44 AM
Member
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 6,593
Received 6 Votes on 6 Posts
Check out this one:

https://www.midwayusa.com/product/1007367010?pid=718023
 
CasualJoe voted this post useful.
  #10  
Old 12-23-19, 10:16 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Canada, Quebec
Posts: 1,612
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
The panel I have, the screws only accept a square bit.
Whereas most torque wrenches come with the square 1/4 receiver not the hex.
Are there bits I can buy with a square receiver and #8 on the front?
 
  #11  
Old 12-23-19, 11:16 AM
Member
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: USA
Posts: 506
Received 9 Votes on 8 Posts
would not a standard 1/4 inch 6 point socket in whatever drive you need work they do make them as a bit driver socket but the only real difference is the magnet to hold the bit.
 
  #12  
Old 12-23-19, 01:08 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Canada, Quebec
Posts: 1,612
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Dunno. The lugs in the panel look round to me. Square d panel.
Cant fit a hex socket on that.
Edit: do you mean an adapter?
 
  #13  
Old 12-23-19, 02:10 PM
Member
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 1,439
Received 15 Votes on 15 Posts
You need a 1/4 square to 1/4 hex adapter. Mine says Autocraft on the side.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: