Bathroom Wiring - Turning on Fan Turns off GFI

Reply

  #1  
Old 12-20-19, 06:21 PM
T
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2019
Posts: 2
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Bathroom Wiring - Turning on Fan Turns off GFI

I've done a little bit of wiring but not a lot. I was replacing a double switch in the bathroom of the house I just bought, and I'm very confused about what was done. I've attached photos of both sides of the switch and the GFI.

The elements include a double switch, vanity lights, a ceiling fan, and a GFI outlet. In the box there's three pairs of white & black wires. If if turn the top switch on, the light turns on. The bottom switch (the one with two black wires connected to it) controls the fan. But when I switch the bottom switch to "on", it turns the outlet off. The hot wire is the thicker of the three white wires.

This doesn't seem right at all, and I'm wondering if this not up to code/dangerous. But messing around with it a bit, I can't seem to find an alternative arrangement that works. Anyone know what's going on here?

Name:  r1.jpg
Views: 77
Size:  93.4 KB

Name:  r2.jpg
Views: 71
Size:  49.1 KB

Name:  r3.jpg
Views: 73
Size:  70.1 KB
 

Last edited by PJmax; 12-20-19 at 10:14 PM. Reason: resized pictures
  #2  
Old 12-20-19, 07:52 PM
T
Member
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 1,693
Received 47 Votes on 46 Posts
Will the GFCI actually drive a significant load? Like a hairdryer?
Beyond that issue, pigtails will be your friend here to eliminate the bad practice of two wires under a screw head. Will make it easier to shove the switch back into the box.
 
  #3  
Old 12-20-19, 09:22 PM
J
Member
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: welland ontario
Posts: 7,733
Received 300 Votes on 257 Posts
It seems like someone may have added a receptacle to a switch loop. There may not be a neutral in that box.
 
  #4  
Old 12-20-19, 10:16 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 60,936
Received 1,348 Votes on 1,246 Posts
We're looking at a double switch and like Joed mentioned there might not be a neutral there.
I agree 100%. It looks like someone connected a GFI receptacle directly across a switch loop.
 
  #5  
Old 12-20-19, 10:43 PM
T
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2019
Posts: 2
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
That was my thought, given that flipping the switch bypasses the outlet. But what's the fix?

Googling suggests that this old-school wiring job, so I'm all turned around trying to figure out how the circuit is put together.
 
  #6  
Old 12-20-19, 10:53 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 60,936
Received 1,348 Votes on 1,246 Posts
There is no fix currently. You'd need to run the receptacle else where for power.

If both of the switches ran a combined device like a fan/light combo....... you could rewire for a neutral. If those two switches run two separate lights..... there isn't any way to rewire them.
 
  #7  
Old 12-21-19, 06:08 AM
J
Member
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: welland ontario
Posts: 7,733
Received 300 Votes on 257 Posts
The fix is a new cable with power and neutral.
 
  #8  
Old 12-21-19, 06:33 AM
Tolyn Ironhand's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: United States
Posts: 13,808
Received 253 Votes on 221 Posts
You also have to fix where you have two wires under a single screw. The wires need to be spliced with a pigtail going to the device.
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: