saw switch

Reply

  #1  
Old 12-28-19, 03:34 PM
S
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2015
Posts: 264
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
saw switch

I removed the switch on the Ryobi table saw and re installed it. It had 2 wires in and 2 out. Why would it be switching 2 wires instead of just 1.? Any reason you couldnt use an AC wall switch and just break
1 wire. The 120 motor has 2 wires and the ground is just connected to plastic also..
 
  #2  
Old 12-28-19, 04:13 PM
Geochurchi's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: United States
Posts: 4,964
Received 88 Votes on 83 Posts
Hi, is it a factory switch that you are replacing? Sounds like they are also switching the neutral, unless it is a 240 volt motor, post some pics.
Geo
 
  #3  
Old 12-28-19, 04:17 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 60,936
Received 1,351 Votes on 1,249 Posts
It switches four wires in order to be 100% certain that power is killed to the saw.
Typically only the hot wire is switched but if that part of the switch went bad..... killing the neutral would be 100% off.

The neutral is not required to be switched so you could use a single pole switch.
Make sure it's a good quality one.
 
  #4  
Old 12-28-19, 06:21 PM
S
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2015
Posts: 264
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
think this is a single wire switch???

https://www.amazon.com/POWERTEC-7105...E9D24FNHZ0WY8E
 
  #5  
Old 12-29-19, 10:41 AM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 60,936
Received 1,351 Votes on 1,249 Posts
That is a four terminal switch. Two power wires in and two motor wires out.
Would be a good choice,.
 
  #6  
Old 12-29-19, 02:34 PM
P
Member
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: United States, Virginia
Posts: 1,514
Received 125 Votes on 99 Posts
You do not want the switch you linked to because it is a magnetic start switch. You need an on/off switch such as ….. https://www.amazon.com/POWERTEC-7100...RT3HNYGRAJQ1BR

The magnetic switch needs a magnetic starter to keep the tool to stay on until you push the off button. There may be an alternate way to wire it to work but it's simpler to just use a simple on/off switch.
 

Last edited by pattenp; 12-29-19 at 02:50 PM.
  #7  
Old 12-29-19, 02:48 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 60,936
Received 1,351 Votes on 1,249 Posts
That is not a magnetic start switch. I checked it out before I replied. It is a double pole power switch.
It looks like just the red flapper on the front is magnetic.
 
  #8  
Old 12-29-19, 02:57 PM
P
Member
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: United States, Virginia
Posts: 1,514
Received 125 Votes on 99 Posts
I'm going by how it's listed as magnetic and in the reviews people are commenting about a problem that power stays on to the tool only if you hold down the power (-) button which leads me to believe the on(-) button is a momentary button just to energize a starter. It's odd that it's only stated as an emergency stop button. I know the second switch I linked will work because I have used a couple of them on tools.

Edit: after further reading I think the magnetic switch has the safety feature if when the power fails with the tool running the tool will not come back on when power is restored. The switch I linked is a simple toggle so if the power returns the switch is still on and the tool would restart.
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: