Wiring/Breaker Question

Reply

  #1  
Old 12-30-19, 07:33 PM
J
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2019
Posts: 4
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Wiring/Breaker Question

So I have a detached garage with a sub panel that is fed off a 2 pole 40 amp breaker from my main panel in my basement. I need to add general use outlets and some outlets for lights in my garage. I've read I should make the general outlets 20 amp and the light outlets 15 amp. My question is how much can I add to the sub panel in my garage that is fed off the 2 pole 40amp breaker?
 

Last edited by Jimjoe84; 12-30-19 at 07:35 PM. Reason: Clarify title
  #2  
Old 12-31-19, 04:05 AM
A
Member
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 572
Received 23 Votes on 22 Posts
It would be best if you gave us an idea of what you plan to power in the garage. simply adding receptacles means nothing to us unless we know what you need to power as that is what will consume energy.

Lighting in the way of LED will be minimal if that is what you plan on using.

Do you have anything in mind as to what you plan on using in the garage?
 
  #3  
Old 12-31-19, 06:11 AM
J
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2019
Posts: 4
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
The lighting is led, I am a carpenter by trade so I plan to use it every now and then for woodworking projects. So tools like miter saw, router, table saw stuff like that.

I also read that I should make the general outlets gfci, is this code or just peoples preference?
 

Last edited by Jimjoe84; 12-31-19 at 06:45 AM.
  #4  
Old 12-31-19, 07:27 AM
P
Member
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: United States, Virginia
Posts: 1,513
Received 125 Votes on 99 Posts
You should be fine with 40A. Put in at least a couple of 20A circuits. GFCI protection is required for all garage 120V outlets.
 
  #5  
Old 01-01-20, 07:12 AM
Tolyn Ironhand's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: United States
Posts: 13,808
Received 253 Votes on 221 Posts
You can install as many circuits as you want in the panel. The 40 amp breaker will be the limiting factor.

My detached garage/shop is fed with a two-pole 40amp breaker and I can run everything I need to without issues. Everything from lights, dust collector, and a 20" planer, all at the same time. The biggest thing is to balance the load between the two legs.
 
  #6  
Old 01-02-20, 09:19 AM
J
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2019
Posts: 4
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Ok next dumb question I'm using a 20 amp breaker and 12-2 wire for my gfci's, should my gfci's be 20 amp also?
 
  #7  
Old 01-02-20, 10:46 AM
Z
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 5,569
Received 161 Votes on 143 Posts
No need to use 20A GFI receptacles (or any 20A receptacles). All 15A receptacles are rated for 15A plug-in and 20A pass-through. But in a garage area, definitely use GFI protection. Remember, you only need one at the first receptacle on each circuit, then connect downstream receptacles via the LOAD terminals.

The only time you need a 20A receptacle is if you have a 20A device that plugs in (with the horizontal blade). (or if there's only a single receptacle on a 20A circuit).
 
  #8  
Old 01-04-20, 04:59 PM
J
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2019
Posts: 4
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
So if I run the outlets parallel do I still only need one gfci at the beginning?
 
  #9  
Old 01-04-20, 05:18 PM
J
Member
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: welland ontario
Posts: 7,733
Received 300 Votes on 257 Posts
Yes, if you use the LOAD terminals on the one GFCI everything connected to them will be protected by the GFCI.
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: