200 amp subpanel

Reply

  #1  
Old 01-11-20, 09:45 PM
A
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2020
Posts: 5
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
200 amp subpanel

I'm needing a little guidance on a project I'm working on. I've set a meter pole with a 200 amp meter base/disconnect combo. For service into the meter base, the utility company specified 4/4/2 aluminum wire. This pole is for power to my shop building which has a 200 amp subpanel. The distance the wire will need to run is about 10 feet. I'm not sure what wire I need to run from my disconnect over to my subpanel. The 4/4/2 seems really large to try and get into my subpanel.
 
  #2  
Old 01-12-20, 03:09 AM
A
Member
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 571
Received 23 Votes on 22 Posts
The wire going from the main meter base disconnect (combo) to the sub panel must be a 4 wire not 3. It must have two hots, one neutral and a ground. The ground and neutral are to be separated at the sub panel. The ground bar to be bonded to the panel and the neutral isolated from the panel.
 
  #3  
Old 01-12-20, 06:43 AM
A
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2020
Posts: 5
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I really appreciate that information. Just a few more questions. At the base/disconnect combo, do I attach the ground wire of the 4-wire to the grounding lug that has my grounding rod wire? And what gauges do these wires need to be for the 200 amp subpanel with total wire length about 10 to 12 feet?
 
  #4  
Old 01-12-20, 09:51 AM
CasualJoe's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: United States
Posts: 10,754
Received 97 Votes on 87 Posts
For service into the meter base, the utility company specified 4/4/2 aluminum wire.
You better check again because that is definitely wrong. Most likely the sizes would be 4/0-4/0-2/0 aluminum.

What is your plan to get the 200 amp feeder from the pole to the building? I would probably use a 2 1/2" PVC conduit from the meter/disconnect to run underground and on into the 200 amp subpanel. I'd pull 2 - 4/0s, 1 - 2/0 and 1 - #4 Equipment Grounding Conductor, all aluminum.


At the base/disconnect combo, do I attach the ground wire of the 4-wire to the grounding lug that has my grounding rod wire?
The ground wire should terminate on the neutral bus, the same as the Grounding Electrode Conductor to the ground rod. If there is no room on the neutral bus, connect it to the ground lug which should be firmly bolted to the box. The neutral bus must also be bonded to the box.
 
  #5  
Old 01-12-20, 09:54 AM
A
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2020
Posts: 5
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Yes, I have that service to the meter as you said. I just typed it wrong. 4/0, 4/0, 2/0, aluminum
 
  #6  
Old 01-12-20, 04:17 PM
A
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2020
Posts: 5
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I made a mistake on saying my sub panel was 200 amp. It's actually 125 amp. What gauges would be needed for the 125 amp?
 
  #7  
Old 01-14-20, 08:00 AM
P
Member
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: United States, Virginia
Posts: 1,513
Received 124 Votes on 98 Posts
For 125A I'd use aluminum 2/0-2/0-2/0-1 for the feeder.
 
  #8  
Old 01-14-20, 06:07 PM
CasualJoe's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: United States
Posts: 10,754
Received 97 Votes on 87 Posts
For 125 amps I'd use 3 - #2 copper with 1 - #6 copper equipment grounding conductor.
 
  #9  
Old 01-15-20, 03:23 AM
A
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2020
Posts: 5
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I appreciate all the advice. In talking to other electricians, I've decided to go with 1/0 copper for the hots, #2 copper for the neutral, and #4 copper for the ground.
 
  #10  
Old 01-15-20, 04:43 PM
CasualJoe's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: United States
Posts: 10,754
Received 97 Votes on 87 Posts
That's fine, but if it were mine I wouldn't run a 150 amp rated feeder to a 125 amp subpanel.
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: