Powering a basement bar

Reply

  #1  
Old 01-13-20, 06:29 AM
J
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2020
Posts: 1
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Powering a basement bar

Is it possible to supply a basement bar that has outlets built in by using a double male extension cord?
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 01-13-20, 07:59 AM
J
Member
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: welland ontario
Posts: 7,561
Received 249 Votes on 219 Posts
NO.

A double ended male cord is extremely dangerous. Once plugged in it has live pins sticking out.
They call them suicide cords for a reason.
 

Last edited by joed; 01-13-20 at 10:58 AM.
  #3  
Old 01-13-20, 08:31 AM
S
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: WI/MN
Posts: 19,575
Received 94 Votes on 83 Posts
One more emphatic NO for emphasis.

Don't even think about using a cord like that. Ever.
 
  #4  
Old 01-13-20, 09:10 AM
P
Group Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: NC, USA
Posts: 23,725
Received 624 Votes on 577 Posts
Also, extension cords are for temporary use only. If you want power at the bar run a circuit. Since it's in a basement it may be required to be GFCI protected and certainly would if your bar has a sink.
 
Reply
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: