GFCI in Concrete Wall

Reply

  #1  
Old 01-15-20, 07:15 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2020
Posts: 3
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
GFCI in Concrete Wall

My son has a 60's house and on the porch is a non GFCI outlet that I want to convert to GFCI. The outlet box is built into the concrete, is too narrow to fit a GFCI. I know I can change the breaker to a GFCI breaker, but this is the only outlet on that circuit that needs GFCI protection. Question: Is there a box I can attach to the existing narrow outlet box that would extend out from the concrete wall and allow me to install a GFCI?
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 01-15-20, 07:41 AM
Member
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 1,454
Received 15 Votes on 15 Posts
A picture would be great. A poured concrete wall, around an outlet box? Or, a cement nailed in box on top of a concrete block (CMU)? I have seen a lot of boxes with not enough depth, but can't recall width being an issue on various '50's houses I've dealt with.
 
  #3  
Old 01-15-20, 08:35 AM
Member
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 3,757
Received 42 Votes on 40 Posts
They make "extension rings" in various rectangular shapes to fit over the mouth of the box and give more space inside for receptacle units, wires (conductors), etc.

I think there exists although I don't remember seeing one, a "ring" that was slightly larger than a box itself (and with open rear keeping the definition of ring) to fit over the box in the wall.
 
  #4  
Old 01-15-20, 08:37 AM
Member
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: welland ontario
Posts: 7,105
Received 133 Votes on 119 Posts
How wide is the box? I have never seen a box that was too narrow. Not deep enough is possible but not too narrow.
 
  #5  
Old 01-15-20, 01:24 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2020
Posts: 3
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Depth is not a problem. It is the width of the box. When I went to insert the GFCI, the terminals of the GFCI were too close for comfort. I am talking less than 1/32 clearance on either side. I need something that I can attach to the box that will utilize the (2) 6-32 female threads on the box and extend out. The concrete walls are poured. Not blocks.

Not at my son's house right now so can not post a photo.
 
  #6  
Old 01-15-20, 01:39 PM
Member
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 1,454
Received 15 Votes on 15 Posts


this will add insulation, but, sadly won't make the box any wider.
Big box has these.
 
  #7  
Old 01-15-20, 05:28 PM
pcboss's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 14,997
Received 40 Votes on 35 Posts
Wiremold makes extension boxes to solve your issue.

 
  #8  
Old 01-15-20, 06:48 PM
Member
Join Date: Jun 2016
Location: USA
Posts: 173
Received 2 Votes on 2 Posts
Quick redneck fix ...... wrap the GFCI outlet a few times in electrical tape so the contacts are covered.
 
  #9  
Old 01-15-20, 07:43 PM
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 4,846
Received 43 Votes on 41 Posts
Something like this:
https://www.amazon.com/Wiremold-Meta.../dp/B01N984WWR

It's a wiremold extra deep extension box like PC Boss suggested.
They used to make rather tiny boxes back in the day, I've run into those before. Usually it's easiest to cut them out and replace, but obviously in a concrete wall, it's a bit more of a challenge.
 
  #10  
Old 01-16-20, 05:03 AM
Member
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 492
Received 7 Votes on 7 Posts
on the porch is a non GFCI outlet that I want to convert to GFCI
Since this receptacle is in a porch you could use this

Outdoor Weather Resistant Receptacle Box

With an in-use bubble cover included.
 
  #11  
Old 01-16-20, 04:48 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2020
Posts: 3
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I think that is a winner AFJES. Going to order it tonight. Appreciate everyone giving their advice. Lots of good ideas. Thanks,
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: