generator outlets

Reply

  #1  
Old 02-23-20, 09:08 AM
T
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: USa
Posts: 84
Received 1 Vote on 1 Post
generator outlets

We’re finally replacing the good old generator we’ve been using during storm outages (we get a lot here) ever since we put it in for Y2K. The old one connected to our breaker panel as 240v. It had an outlet for one of those connectors that has 4 blades in a circle, with a little wing on one blade pointing out away from the middle.

Well I got the new one all set in place and went to connect; but the 240V outlet on it has the little wing pointing in instead of out! (It’s a DeWalt DXGNR 8000). What’s going on here? Can I just modify the plug to fit the outlet? Or does this mean it’s not compatible?
 

Last edited by TomVZ; 02-23-20 at 09:29 AM.
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 02-23-20, 10:03 AM
J
Member
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: welland ontario
Posts: 7,192
Received 142 Votes on 127 Posts
Sounds like your old unit might have been a 20 amp receptacle L14-20r and your new unit is a 30 amp receptacle L14-30r.
Do not modify the plug. Get the proper plug to fit the generator receptacle.
 
TomVZ voted this post useful.
  #3  
Old 02-23-20, 11:13 AM
T
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: USa
Posts: 84
Received 1 Vote on 1 Post
Thanks Joed. So it sounds like my generator puts out 30 amps, whereas my old one was apparently 20-amp or less. I wonder if that means my wire that plugs into the generator and runs to the house might not be adequate. It says "CAROL 12/4 90c ... 600v". Does that indicate whether it is adequate?

The circuit breaker that controls the circuit has "30" printed on it, so it apparently is adequate?
 
  #4  
Old 02-23-20, 11:52 AM
J
Member
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: welland ontario
Posts: 7,192
Received 142 Votes on 127 Posts
Forgot about that aspect. Yes 30 amp cabling needs to be #10. That cable is only #12 and good for 20 amps.
 
TomVZ voted this post useful.
  #5  
Old 02-23-20, 01:11 PM
T
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: USa
Posts: 84
Received 1 Vote on 1 Post
Thanks again joed.

Now I'm wondering about the wire that runs from the outlet on the house (which the generator cord plugs into) to the service panel--whether that is adequate (hopefully). I can make out the following on an exposed part of it:
06 Essex 10-3 Type NM-B 600V ... E10816F

Does that tell us anything? It's only a several-foot-long distance that the wire runs from the outlet on the house to the service panel inside.
 
  #6  
Old 02-23-20, 01:37 PM
J
Member
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: welland ontario
Posts: 7,192
Received 142 Votes on 127 Posts
10/3 tells me it is good for 30 amps.
You should have an inlet not an outlet on the outside of your house.
 
TomVZ voted this post useful.
  #7  
Old 02-23-20, 02:04 PM
T
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: USa
Posts: 84
Received 1 Vote on 1 Post
Great! Thanks! And thanx for the terminology lesson. I guess electrical connections are kind of like belly buttons--Innies and outies...
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: