securing overhead cable along multiple poles

Reply

  #1  
Old 03-08-20, 05:04 AM
S
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2020
Posts: 5
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Question securing overhead cable along multiple poles

I have service going to a pole, then down to a meter base with a breaker. Power will then be brought back up the pole and then overhead over 2 poles (house is 110 ft from service). Iv done fiber optic wire before (different job) and at each pole we used a clamp method with the messenger wire.
https://hubbellcdn.com/prodimage1200...IMAGE_1200.jpg
Can i use this clamp on the messenger wire at each pole and use all thread through the pole to attach or will that compromise the "neutral wire. Any suggestions on what else i can or should use. yes it has to be over head.
 
  #2  
Old 03-08-20, 07:14 AM
J
Member
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: welland ontario
Posts: 7,734
Received 300 Votes on 257 Posts
Technically it will be the ground wire since you will need a four wire feed after panel on the first pole.
 
Geochurchi voted this post useful.
  #3  
Old 03-08-20, 10:35 AM
S
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2020
Posts: 5
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
The area inspector has told me that if Fortis supplies the meter base and breaker then I only require 3 wire but if we supply the meter base and breaker we need 4 wire. Fortis has been supping the meter base more often for rural customers.
 
  #4  
Old 03-08-20, 10:47 AM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 60,936
Received 1,351 Votes on 1,249 Posts
Suspending service cable requires some considerations. Most aluminum service cables are not rated to be hung. You would need to get triplex cable which has a steel runner in with the bare neutral.

To utilize your method with those clamps would require you installing a guy (runner) wire first.
When I suspend triplex I use service hooks and wedge clamps.
Aluminum wedge clamps
 
  #5  
Old 03-08-20, 11:57 AM
CasualJoe's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: United States
Posts: 10,765
Received 97 Votes on 87 Posts
The area inspector has told me that if Fortis supplies the meter base and breaker then I only require 3 wire but if we supply the meter base and breaker we need 4 wire. Fortis has been supping the meter base more often for rural customers.
I am assuming that you are saying that the inspector has said that if the utility supplies the meter socket with breaker than you follow the National Electric Safety Code and if you supply the meter socket with breaker you follow the National Electric Code. The way I see it is that if you supply and install the wiring after the breaker you should follow the National Electric Code which says this is to be a 4-wire feed to the subpanel at the house. Regardless of what I think, you need to follow what the inspector wants to see, but I also think you have a good argument for using a 4-wire feed.
 
  #6  
Old 03-08-20, 11:57 AM
Tolyn Ironhand's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: United States
Posts: 13,808
Received 253 Votes on 221 Posts
I also normally use the wedge clamps like PJ posted and insulated knobs with a lag bolt.

https://www.lowes.com/pd/Sigma-Elect...E&gclsrc=aw.ds
 
  #7  
Old 03-08-20, 12:13 PM
S
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2020
Posts: 5
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Fortis uses a "non approved" breaker ( not sure what that means). whereas if i bought a meter base with breaker it would be " approved" and i would need 4 wire for it. Also this install is in Alberta so CEC is the rule of law.
 

Last edited by Shane Crawley; 03-08-20 at 12:14 PM. Reason: forgot to add info
  #8  
Old 03-08-20, 12:28 PM
S
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2020
Posts: 5
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
does anyone have a picture of this in use.
 
  #9  
Old 03-08-20, 12:54 PM
Tolyn Ironhand's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: United States
Posts: 13,808
Received 253 Votes on 221 Posts
does anyone have a picture of this in use.
OF the breaker or the knob?
 
  #10  
Old 03-08-20, 07:35 PM
S
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2020
Posts: 5
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
knob, but i went for a ride in an older neighbourhood and found kind of what i was looking for. thanks
 
  #11  
Old 03-08-20, 07:55 PM
Tolyn Ironhand's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: United States
Posts: 13,808
Received 253 Votes on 221 Posts
That is actually what I was going to suggest. 😊
 
  #12  
Old 03-09-20, 09:54 AM
CasualJoe's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: United States
Posts: 10,765
Received 97 Votes on 87 Posts
Also this install is in Alberta so CEC is the rule of law.
You didn't tell us this was in another country, all bets are off. Follow what your local inspector tells you to do.
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: