Help with GFI receptacle

Reply

  #1  
Old 03-21-20, 07:51 PM
J
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2020
Posts: 6
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Help with GFI receptacle

I had my microwave 700 watts plugged into a GFCI outlet in kitchen. Outlet just tripped tonight. It had been working fine. Tried microwave on another GFCI and it worked. GFCI microwave was plugged into will not trip if I plug something else into it like the toaster. Any help would be greatly appreciated!
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 03-21-20, 08:12 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 56,297
Received 733 Votes on 688 Posts
Welcome to the forums.

So if you try the microwave back in the original GFI receptacle..... it still trips ?
 
  #3  
Old 03-21-20, 08:18 PM
J
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2020
Posts: 6
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Help with GFCI outlet

It trips as soon as it is plugged in. I tried microwave on a GFCI in another room and it did not trip the GFCI outlet when it was plugged in. I plugged the toaster into the GFCI outlet the microwave tripped and there were no issues. It was working fine all day without issues. I just happened to look over and notice the clock on it wasn't working.
 

Last edited by Justme66; 03-21-20 at 08:22 PM. Reason: Add details
  #4  
Old 03-21-20, 08:37 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 56,297
Received 733 Votes on 688 Posts
Does the microwave have a three prong plug ?
We know the toaster has a two prong plug.

The microwave works fine in a different GFI receptacle.
The toaster works fine in the questionable GFI receptacle.

My thought is problem with ground at the questionable location.
Does each GFI receptacle operate independently or is there another non GFI receptacle connected to the problem GFI location ?
 
  #5  
Old 03-21-20, 08:53 PM
J
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2020
Posts: 6
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Microwave is three prong. I checked ground and it appeared fine. The GFCI outlet that tripped did not affect any other outlets.
 
  #6  
Old 03-21-20, 09:09 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 56,297
Received 733 Votes on 688 Posts
GFI protection monitors an imbalance between hot and neutral. With a two prong appliance..... the GFI will never trip unless that appliance touches ground like at the sink.

With a microwave and a three prong plug...... the GFI could see a problem between the hot slot and ground. That would indicate a problem within the microwave. However if there was a problem with the microwave it would trip any GFI receptacle it was plugged into.

The next logical step would be to replace the GFI receptacle to eliminate that as a problem.
 
  #7  
Old 03-21-20, 10:38 PM
J
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2020
Posts: 6
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I will do that in the am. I did also plug in a 3 prong power strip and it did not trip. Thank you for all your help.
 
  #8  
Old 03-22-20, 12:27 PM
J
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2020
Posts: 6
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Still not working

. I replaced a GFI in kitchen because microwave kept tripping it. It still trips it. It is a 700 watt microwave oven and was working just fine until last night. I have plugged the microwave into a different GFI in another room and it did not trip it. Any help is greatly appreciated!


THREADS COMBINED
 

Last edited by PJmax; 03-23-20 at 10:33 AM.
  #9  
Old 03-22-20, 03:15 PM
Tolyn Ironhand's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Twin Cities, MN
Posts: 13,277
Received 127 Votes on 112 Posts
Try one more GFCI. I suspect there might be something wrong with the microwave. (and the non-tripping GFCI for that matter)
 
  #10  
Old 03-22-20, 03:58 PM
J
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2020
Posts: 6
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I just tried a GFI in the bathroom and the microwave tripped it. Does that mean it is a microwave issue? I can not afford an electrician so much rather due without microwave! Thank you for any and all help!!!!! My location is central Tx area.
​​​​​​
 

Last edited by Justme66; 03-22-20 at 04:48 PM.
  #11  
Old 03-22-20, 06:56 PM
pcboss's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 15,079
Received 62 Votes on 54 Posts
When the issue moves with the appliance you have an appliance issue.
 
CasualJoe voted this post useful.
  #12  
Old 03-23-20, 10:33 AM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 56,297
Received 733 Votes on 688 Posts
Keep the replies/topic in one thread to eliminate second guessing.
 
  #13  
Old 03-24-20, 02:29 PM
CasualJoe's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: United States
Posts: 10,490
Received 60 Votes on 51 Posts
Does that mean it is a microwave issue?
I'd say so. ..........................
 
  #14  
Old 03-24-20, 03:40 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 56,297
Received 733 Votes on 688 Posts
The reason I combined the threads was in the first one..... he tried the microwave on a completely different GFI receptacle and it did not trip. Then he tried another GFI and it tripped. If it was a guaranteed microwave problem.... it should trip any GFI receptacle.
 
Reply
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: