Legacy door opener

Reply

  #1  
Old 04-04-20, 04:55 AM
pugsl's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: United States
Posts: 8,810
Received 50 Votes on 46 Posts
Legacy door opener

Legacy (Overhead) 2 doors one works fine and one will not go down from remote. Also same door only will close all the way if you hold button on wall. Have to hold it until door is fully closed or it will go back up. Don't know where to start.
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 04-04-20, 05:11 AM
Norm201's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: United States
Posts: 8,419
Received 169 Votes on 154 Posts
I would start with the safety sensors. Are they aligned, are they operational, any breaks in the wires, are the wires connected or did they come loose?
 
  #3  
Old 04-04-20, 06:16 AM
J
Member
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: welland ontario
Posts: 7,325
Received 190 Votes on 168 Posts
After the sensor check verify that the door functions properly when detached from the opener.
 
  #4  
Old 04-04-20, 06:17 AM
Tolyn Ironhand's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Twin Cities, MN
Posts: 13,308
Received 133 Votes on 117 Posts
Check the downward force setting on the opener. If it is not high enough it will not go down.
 
  #5  
Old 04-04-20, 06:25 AM
P
Member
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: United States, Virginia
Posts: 1,318
Received 45 Votes on 38 Posts
What's the brand and model opener?
 
  #6  
Old 04-04-20, 10:21 AM
J
Member
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: welland ontario
Posts: 7,325
Received 190 Votes on 168 Posts
Another test is to detach the opener and try it.
 
  #7  
Old 04-04-20, 09:19 PM
pugsl's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: United States
Posts: 8,810
Received 50 Votes on 46 Posts
Have not had chance to look at this yet but have 2 remotes and both work the same way. Door will open but will not do anything when trying to close.each remote will open door and stop it but will not lower door. Only way to close is to use wired wall control and hod button till it is all the way closed. If I let go of button before closed all the way door will open.
 
  #8  
Old 04-05-20, 04:46 AM
Norm201's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: United States
Posts: 8,419
Received 169 Votes on 154 Posts
Another shot in the dark. Any chance the rails may be touching the ground? I mentioned this before a few years back. I had the same problem when the sun beat down on the doors it was just enough to cause the expansion to cause binding. I cut the rails back by about 1/4 inch. solved the problem.
 
  #9  
Old 04-05-20, 10:59 AM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 56,423
Received 756 Votes on 710 Posts
That's is definitely a sensor problem. If you can force the door closed.... it's not a door problem.
I've had issues with two doors where the transmitter/sensor from the one shines into the receiver/sensor on the second one.
 
  #10  
Old 04-05-20, 01:19 PM
pugsl's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: United States
Posts: 8,810
Received 50 Votes on 46 Posts
R Side green light is on but does not blink when sensor is blocked, L Side red light does blink when sensor is blocked. Think r sensor is bad. Had a few minutes to look at it today. Won't close on house for a couple of weeks yet and will not repair till than.
 
  #11  
Old 04-15-20, 03:09 AM
pugsl's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: United States
Posts: 8,810
Received 50 Votes on 46 Posts
Replaced both sensors and still the same problem. Door will only go down with wired button. Remotes work will on other door but only open this door.
Legacy (Genie) 696CD/B Wall button will let door come down but if you take finger off button it will reverse and go up. Push button again and door will stop
 
  #12  
Old 04-15-20, 06:09 PM
Tolyn Ironhand's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Twin Cities, MN
Posts: 13,308
Received 133 Votes on 117 Posts
See post #4
-----------------------------------------------
 
  #13  
Old 04-15-20, 08:10 PM
J
Member
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: welland ontario
Posts: 7,325
Received 190 Votes on 168 Posts
If it is force problem the closer should function if you disconnect it from the door and let it run free.
 
  #14  
Old 04-16-20, 03:31 AM
pugsl's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: United States
Posts: 8,810
Received 50 Votes on 46 Posts
Door open and closes easy by hand (disconnected from opener). Does not do anything when button is pushed on either remote. Remote will open door. Sensors seem aligned and blink when beam broken.
 
  #15  
Old 04-28-20, 01:46 PM
pugsl's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: United States
Posts: 8,810
Received 50 Votes on 46 Posts
Replaced control board and all is well.
 
Reply
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: