Complete nob, please assist

Reply

  #1  
Old 04-07-20, 03:53 PM
T
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2020
Posts: 4
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Complete nob, please assist

Okay so I've done enough "googling" and can't seem to get a clear answer - and I am not sticking my hands as in this case where it not to be.

I am hooking up this Sense meter to my main panel. There was another thread on this site about it as well and happy to share more details about this Sense energy device for folks who may be interested.

But this energy reading device requires that it be hooked up to a 240v circuit.

And looking at my breaker panel I haven't got a clue which of the 20v breaker would be considered 240

Name:  20200405_164403.jpg
Views: 73
Size:  3.45 MB
 
Attached Images  
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 04-07-20, 04:03 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 56,343
Received 741 Votes on 696 Posts
Welcome to the forums.

There are 240v connection points there.
Please tell us what you are trying to connect.
A link would be very helpful.
Typically it would be current sensing coils or donuts.
 
  #3  
Old 04-07-20, 04:06 PM
T
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2020
Posts: 4
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Here's a quick connect guide for this energy meter:

https://sense.com/help/MUSR-EDOC-08.02-20190715-RGB.pdf

 
  #4  
Old 04-07-20, 04:18 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 56,343
Received 741 Votes on 696 Posts
OK...... you can see where the two current clamps get attached. Look at following picture..... your two main wires or legs are labeled A and B. The breakers below that alternate A and B. Pick a set of red handled breakers next to each other. Connect your meter there. The white wire connects to the neutral bar to the left. It would be ideal to find a connecting pin so that both breaker handles operated together. You can see there are several 240v breakers in use there.

Name:  wp.jpg
Views: 57
Size:  98.7 KB
 
Zorfdt voted this post useful.
  #5  
Old 04-07-20, 04:22 PM
T
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2020
Posts: 4
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
You, sir, are a gentleman and a scholar.

Okay off I go to shut off the power before plugging in the unit.

Btw: How did you know that these breakers were 240 and not 120 ?

Many thanks!!
 
  #6  
Old 04-07-20, 04:34 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 56,343
Received 741 Votes on 696 Posts
Between each single breaker (A or B) and neutral will be 120v. Between any two breakers (A and B) will be 240v.

That's why I labeled your panel. Your panel is set up so that when a 240v breaker is installed.... it gets connected to 240v.

If you could find those breakers...... you could remove two spare red handled breakers and install a 15A or 20A 240v breaker.
 
tea_baggins voted this post useful.
  #7  
Old 04-07-20, 05:11 PM
T
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2020
Posts: 4
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Thumbs up

Many thanks PJ

All done. Took an entire ~10-mins to install !!

Name:  2020-04-07 17_09_06-Window.jpg
Views: 47
Size:  6.2 KB
 
  #8  
Old 04-07-20, 05:24 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 56,343
Received 741 Votes on 696 Posts
That was quick. Good job.
 
  #9  
Old 04-08-20, 08:17 AM
CasualJoe's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: United States
Posts: 10,495
Received 62 Votes on 53 Posts
I am hooking up this Sense meter to my main panel.
I have a couple better ideas. Check to be sure your home is insured to the max OR replace that obsolete Zinsco fire hazard! Replacement would be the best.


https://inspectapedia.com/electric/Z...cal_Panels.php
 
Reply
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: