Plz help me upgrade my daughter's 12v jeep

Reply

  #1  
Old 04-08-20, 11:51 AM
C
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2020
Posts: 6
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Plz help me upgrade my daughter's 12v jeep

Easy fix I'm sure but I want to make my daughter's jeep a little more powerful. It is not a power wheels and has other circuit boards attached to power to control lights and sounds. I want to upgrade the torque because of all the hills around our area really suck the life out of the battery and the motors seem to have trouble pulling her weight. The battery is a 12v 7ah sealed lead acid battery. Let me know what I need to do to upgrade.

Link to electrical connections
http://imgur.com/a/iO7ADvo
 

Last edited by Cw10690; 04-08-20 at 12:07 PM.
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 04-08-20, 12:25 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 56,425
Received 756 Votes on 710 Posts
Welcome to the forums.

It easy enough to increase battery capacity but that won't gain you much performance.
That probably only has one DC motor. That's where you'd need to start.

Post a picture of the motor/drive section....... How-to-insert-pictures.
 
  #3  
Old 04-08-20, 01:14 PM
C
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2020
Posts: 6
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
There is one motor on each rear wheel
 
  #4  
Old 04-08-20, 01:17 PM
C
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2020
Posts: 6
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I was hoping i could increase power not capacity. Hoping to use a lithium 18v battery from power tools but I don't want to fry the lights or the pcb board in the grey plastic
 
  #5  
Old 04-08-20, 02:58 PM
Tolyn Ironhand's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Twin Cities, MN
Posts: 13,308
Received 133 Votes on 117 Posts
A power tool battery would not have the capacity to power the jeep.

If you want it to have more power to get up and down hills you want more capacity. I would first try adding a 2nd battery connected in parallel with the existing battery keeping the voltage to 12 VDC. Otherwise, you can wire them in series changing it to 24 volts. Your picture is not very good so I can't say how the lights will fair.
 
  #6  
Old 04-08-20, 03:16 PM
C
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2020
Posts: 6
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I've seen videos of people using these batteries the only difference is their children's vehicle doesn't have any extras like lights and sound. It's ok I'm just wondering how I would wire it. The power has to go through the grey box in the middle first. The green wire and the yellow wire that are in the middle of the grey box run to the motors. All the other wires are for the wireless controller and lights and sound.
 
  #7  
Old 04-08-20, 06:12 PM
Tolyn Ironhand's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Twin Cities, MN
Posts: 13,308
Received 133 Votes on 117 Posts
Does the jeep have variable speed or just go and stop?
 
  #8  
Old 04-08-20, 06:53 PM
C
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2020
Posts: 6
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Yea it does using the remote controller I can change 3 speeds
 
  #9  
Old 04-08-20, 08:26 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 56,425
Received 756 Votes on 710 Posts
It's certainly going to be a challenge.

The controller is designed for 12v as are the motors and the accessories.
Adding a second battery in parallel (+to+ and -to-) is the easiest and safest way to go.
The added current from the second battery may give the vehicle the extra it needs.

If you want to increase the voltage to the system then you'll need to look into a different speed controller.
 
  #10  
Old 04-09-20, 09:36 AM
C
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2020
Posts: 6
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
So what you're saying is to wire them so they put out more current meaning ah? I would need to buy another battery, wires, and connectors. But what if I just buy a battery that has more ah would that be the same? I'm asking because it will be less work for the same money.
 
  #11  
Old 04-09-20, 10:54 AM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 56,425
Received 756 Votes on 710 Posts
Yes.... a larger battery would accomplish the same thing.
 
  #12  
Old 04-09-20, 12:09 PM
L
Member
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 1,368
Received 45 Votes on 41 Posts
Looking at size of existing wires, I doubt increasing AH of the battery will help much. The controller probably is incapable of supplying enough current to the motor to begin with.
You may have to replace the controller and wiring as well.

Larger AH battery will give you more battery life and capable of supplying higher current, but that is true only if the controller can make use of it.

 
Reply
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: