How to free up space in this panel

Reply

  #1  
Old 04-22-20, 02:45 PM
A
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2020
Posts: 2
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
How to free up space in this panel

I need to add a 2 pole 60 amp circuit for a car charger. Any ideas on how to free up 2 spaces in this panel? I can swap the current 2 space 40 amp A/C breaker to a triplex breaker and move 2 circuits there which frees up 1 space. Then I can switch the top 20 amp single space breaker to a tandem single pole breaker to free up a half space. ... but that only frees up 1.5 spaces total and I need 2. Any ideas? Thanks!!!!

 
Attached Images   
  #2  
Old 04-22-20, 02:55 PM
J
Member
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: welland ontario
Posts: 7,734
Received 300 Votes on 257 Posts
There is no room. That panel is already full of tandem breakers.
A new panel or a sub panel and move some of the circuits to the sub panel to get the breaker space for the sub panel is needed.
 
  #3  
Old 04-22-20, 03:01 PM
A
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2020
Posts: 2
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Yeah, I was hoping to avoid a subpanel if I could. If I do, can I extend the current circuits with a wire nut splice in the main panel to get enough length to run to a subpanel?
 
  #4  
Old 04-22-20, 04:20 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 60,936
Received 1,351 Votes on 1,249 Posts
Welcome to the forums.

can I extend the current circuits with a wire nut splice
Yes.... that is ok. You can leave the ground and neutrals connected where they are
and just extend the hot wiring to the breaker.
 
  #5  
Old 04-22-20, 04:39 PM
A
Member
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 1,650
Received 48 Votes on 43 Posts
When extending a circuit to a sub panel you need to take both hot and neutral. Ground can be left connected as is.
 
  #6  
Old 04-22-20, 05:06 PM
D
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 1,119
Received 53 Votes on 45 Posts
Some of the electrical guys may have a good answer why NOT to do this but........
Personally, I'd have someone come in & install a new larger panel. I counted 39 spaces in your current panel but its got to be a 40 space panel. I dont know for sure but I am assuming you can get a 60 space breaker panel?

After research... yes you can:
https://www.homedepot.com/p/Square-D...dalType=drawer
 
  #7  
Old 04-23-20, 10:24 AM
CasualJoe's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: United States
Posts: 10,765
Received 97 Votes on 87 Posts
I counted 39 spaces in your current panel but its got to be a 40 space panel.
I only count 20 spaces, it is full. I'd replace it with a 40 space panel and avoid using the tandem breakers. A 40 space panel will probably be a 40-80 panel.
 
  #8  
Old 04-23-20, 01:05 PM
A
Member
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 1,650
Received 48 Votes on 43 Posts
Looks like a meter main so a bit more involved to replace.

Back to original question. To free 1/2 space you could combine circuits. Stove+refrigerator, washer+dryer, GD+dishwasher, attic+BR lights. Other option to put panel in garage with garage, garage lights, and charger but finding circuits might be difficult.
 
  #9  
Old 04-24-20, 09:43 AM
CasualJoe's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: United States
Posts: 10,765
Received 97 Votes on 87 Posts
Looks like a meter main so a bit more involved to replace.
It might be, the configuration is pretty strange for a typical loadcenter. That would mean the OP didn't give us the full story. If it is, I'd just put in a subpanel.
 
Drangd voted this post useful.
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: