Does subpanel require its own surge arrestor?

Reply

  #1  
Old 05-08-20, 06:47 AM
D
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 746
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Does subpanel require its own surge arrestor?

We have a 200 amp service with a large GE panel and a smaller Murray subpanel next to it. The GE panel has a surge arrestor already installed directly below the main 200 amp breaker. Is the Murray subpanel already protected since it is wired to the GE panel? Or, would it be prudent to place one in that subpanel too? Thanks.
 

Last edited by Dave4242; 05-08-20 at 07:07 AM. Reason: more info
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 05-08-20, 08:12 AM
T
Member
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 1,648
Received 43 Votes on 42 Posts
Necessary? No. Can it help? Yes. A large surge event causes large currents. The more paths available inside the TVSS devices, the less the overvoltage event. More ground rods, and the like, is also important.
 
  #3  
Old 05-08-20, 11:02 AM
Z
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 5,398
Received 126 Votes on 117 Posts
Personally, I wouldn't bother with the panels next to each other. If the subpanel was across the house or in a utility building, I think a separate protector would be useful.

(As Telecom Guy stated though, more is always better)
 
Reply
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: