New 60A Line for Hot Tub

Old 05-08-20, 02:30 PM
B
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
New 60A Line for Hot Tub

Hi all, I'd like to run a new line for a new hot tub heater I'm putting in. I've never done anything with 220v before so this is my first. I think I can do this without having to bring in an electrician.

The heater device contains two 5.5 kw heaters and requires 220-240v and 50 amps. So I believe I need a twin, single pole 60 amp breaker installed at my panel - actually a 100 amp subpanel with open spots for a breaker.

Years ago we had 6/3 wire run behind our basement wall from the breaker panel area to the outside wall of our basement. It was never actually wired to the panel. My question is, can I still use this wire? I thought I read here I need 4 wires where this one only has 3. The wiring diagram for the heater calls for 3 wires: 2 hots and a ground.

Original thread with more information...... tankless-water-heater-hot-tub-idea.

Last edited by PJmax; 05-08-20 at 10:41 PM. Reason: added link
Old 05-08-20, 05:35 PM
Forum Topic Moderator
Received 105 Votes on 91 Posts
What type of cable is that. ? A 6-3 cable is 4 conductors. The ground is not counted in the description.

Old 05-09-20, 05:20 AM
A
Received 110 Votes on 102 Posts
Some heaters do not have any 120 volt components and take just the two hots delivering 240 volts. In that case the white wire in the 6-3 cable would not be connected to anything in the heater. The unused wire should not be cut off or cut short because someone might want to install a different appliance, needing 120 volts, in the future.

For new cable runs, 6-3 for 240 volts is pulled or strung in the same fashion as 14-2 for 120 volts or anything in between.

Old 05-09-20, 07:19 AM
Group Moderator
Received 253 Votes on 221 Posts
I see 4 wires in your picture, The ground is between the red and whits wires.