Battery powered 3-way dimmer switch

Reply

  #1  
Old 05-08-20, 03:09 PM
eddieo45's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Milton, MA
Posts: 313
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Battery powered 3-way dimmer switch

The front door of my house is on a wall that had no light switch, making it really inconvenient when entering in the dark. There was no way to fish wires to that wall, so my electrician at the time (6 years ago) installed a battery-powered dimmer switch that works as a three-way with a conventionally wired dimmer on the other side of the room. The switches control a chandelier over the dining room table, and the LED candelabra bulbs in the chandelier tend to flicker. When it gets really bad I change the batteries but within a week or so the flickering returns. Is this common? Is there a fix? Maybe a higher quality battery-powered switch?
 
  #2  
Old 05-08-20, 03:25 PM
P
Group Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: NC, USA
Posts: 24,426
Received 747 Votes on 686 Posts
I might start looking for a new cordless switch system. 6 years ago LED lights were in there infancy and dimming was almost unheard of so there might be some incompatibility between the switch the bulbs.
 
eddieo45 voted this post useful.
  #3  
Old 05-08-20, 03:25 PM
J
Member
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: welland ontario
Posts: 7,719
Received 295 Votes on 254 Posts
It could be the combination dimmer and LED. Some dimmers don't work well with LED and some LED don't dim very well.
 
eddieo45 voted this post useful.
  #4  
Old 05-08-20, 04:12 PM
eddieo45's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Milton, MA
Posts: 313
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I might start looking for a new cordless switch system. 6 years ago LED lights were in there infancy and dimming was almost unheard of so there might be some incompatibility between the switch the bulbs.
That's a great point. I work in wireless telecom which has changed dramatically since I started over 25 years ago but I often point to light bulbs as the most dramatic changes. Is there a switch you'd recommend?
 
  #5  
Old 05-08-20, 11:09 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 60,786
Received 1,324 Votes on 1,224 Posts
Look to a Lutron system. In the link is just one of the many kits they offer. There is dimmer that gets installed in place of the switch. The small button unit standing in the picture is an ultra thin wireless remote that can be mounted in a second location. It comes with a plate so that it looks just like a wired switch. This can also be paired with Alexa.

This dimmer/switch requires a neutral.
Most remote type switches will require neutral so check what you have at your switch.

Key words...... Lutron - caseta - pico remote
Basic Caseta kit
 
  #6  
Old 05-12-20, 03:21 PM
eddieo45's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Milton, MA
Posts: 313
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
This dimmer/switch requires a neutral.
Most remote type switches will require neutral so check what you have at your switch.
Everything I'm reading about it says it does NOT need a neutral wire, and actually will not work with one. I'll check what I have currently first though, thanks. Lutron says it's available in black but I'm having no luck finding anything but white.
 
  #7  
Old 05-12-20, 11:25 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 60,786
Received 1,324 Votes on 1,224 Posts
They may have updated the circuit to not require a neutral now.
Having a neutral would not be a problem.... it just wouldn't be used.
 
eddieo45 voted this post useful.
  #8  
Old 05-15-20, 11:13 AM
eddieo45's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Milton, MA
Posts: 313
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
it's a second home and I'll be there later today for the weekend; once I determine whether there's a neutral wire I'll make my decision. There's another product that requires one.
 
  #9  
Old 05-18-20, 02:59 PM
eddieo45's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Milton, MA
Posts: 313
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
So, I checked the current dimmer and it does, indeed, use a neutral wire (it's the Leviton 6696). Lutron confirms that the PD-6WCL will NOT work with a neutral, but they have another model, PD-10NXD-BL, that will. But get this: when I stuffed the current switch back into the wall I was careful with the little antenna wire, leaving it un-kinked and alongside the switch. Now the dimmers work without flickering!
 
Attached Images  
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: