Infrastructure requirements


  #1  
Old 05-13-20, 04:12 PM
M
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2020
Posts: 2
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Infrastructure requirements

I'm looking into becoming an entrepreneur and my business has high electricity usage, up to 50 kw per hour. I have no idea what kind of infrastructure I would need for that, and if there are any special requirements related to that. At this point in the planning phase I'm mostly interested in rough cost estimate for materials and special requirements that might impose on the facility.

Can anyone help?
 
  #2  
Old 05-13-20, 05:09 PM
T
Member
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 1,784
Received 68 Votes on 64 Posts
Call your POCO. 50kW is not high. My nearest pole mount transformer is rated at least that high.
 
  #3  
Old 05-14-20, 05:14 PM
Tolyn Ironhand's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: United States
Posts: 14,963
Received 595 Votes on 511 Posts
50KW is the starting point for the size of the electrical service you will need. To determine that you will also need to know what voltages you require, If you need single-phase or three-phase, and if that 50kw also includes the general operation of the business. (IE lighting, computers, office appliances, etc. )
 
  #4  
Old 05-14-20, 06:11 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Jersey
Posts: 70,055
Received 2,953 Votes on 2,664 Posts
Welcome to the forums.

Don't be shy...... tells us what the business is.
That tells us the type of load and demands you'll have.
Square footage of the business can be helpful.
Depending on location and building size..... HVAC will be a large part of your infrastructure.
 
  #5  
Old 05-18-20, 02:13 AM
M
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2020
Posts: 2
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
It's for a small commercial cannabis startup grow facility. That load is all grow lights. So I did some more searching. Looks like I would need 400 AMP service?
 
  #6  
Old 05-18-20, 05:33 AM
P
Group Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: NC, USA
Posts: 28,125
Received 1,561 Votes on 1,404 Posts
Lighting will only be a portion of the electrical usage. Even with the most efficient lighting almost all of the light's wattage will end up being converted to heat... which will have to be removed with air conditioning. Then there is humidity control either humidification or dehumidification. Depending on where you are located lighting might not even be half your energy consumption.
 
  #7  
Old 05-19-20, 05:42 PM
Tolyn Ironhand's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: United States
Posts: 14,963
Received 595 Votes on 511 Posts
Looks like I would need 400 AMP service?
I assume that would be with a 120/208v three-phase service. If you find a location with 277/480v available you might only need a 200 amp service. Your lights, LED or metal halide, could likely be able to run on 277v while general power requirements (120/208) would transformer(s) and separate panel(s). Also, as Dane posted, you will need rooftop units, but they could be run off of 480 volts three-phase.

All that said, using your number of 50KW at 208 voltage would be 150 amps alone just for the lights.
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: