Go Back  DoItYourself.com Community Forums > Electrical, AC & DC. Electronic Equipment and Computers > Electrical - AC & DC
Reload this Page >

Correct grounding of metal junction box w/splices for 3 circuits

Correct grounding of metal junction box w/splices for 3 circuits

Reply

  #1  
Old 05-14-20, 02:41 PM
N
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 8
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Correct grounding of metal junction box w/splices for 3 circuits

I spent half an hour reading Article 250 but didn't see multiple circuits specifically addressed.

I have 3 circuits (microwave, disposal, and dishwasher) entering a metal box where the THHN wire will be spliced to Romex.


To ground the box, do I just need to pigtail off of one circuit's ground wire and attach to the box, or do I pigtail all 3 circuits' ground wires together?

The conduit is metal, which I believe is sufficient for grounding, but I don't trust the fittings' set screws.
 

Popular Reply

 
05-14-20, 03:16 PM
joed
joed is offline
Member
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: welland ontario
Posts: 7,727
Received 299 Votes on 256 Posts
All grounds from all circuits are connected together and to the metal box.
 
  #2  
Old 05-14-20, 03:16 PM
J
Member
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: welland ontario
Posts: 7,727
Received 299 Votes on 256 Posts
All grounds from all circuits are connected together and to the metal box.
 
CasualJoe, PJmax voted this post useful.
  #3  
Old 05-15-20, 05:32 AM
Geochurchi's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: United States
Posts: 4,963
Received 88 Votes on 83 Posts
Just one ground conductor is required in the conduit.
Geo
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: