Installing outdoor outlets

Reply

  #1  
Old 05-15-20, 10:43 AM
D
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: usa
Posts: 219
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Installing outdoor outlets

Hello
I am installing outdoor outlets at the four corners of my home.
my plan is to make the first outlet GFI and the remaining three standard outlets protected from the first GFI on the chain.

Are there specific difference between outlets for indoor use and outdoor use ?
or are the outlets you would use outdoors the same as you use on the inside of the home?

Also is there a specific NEC height requirement for the minimum distance above ground?

thanks
 
  #2  
Old 05-15-20, 10:48 AM
A
Member
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 1,650
Received 48 Votes on 43 Posts
Receptacles need to be weather resistant - WR rated stamped on the front.
No minimum height requirement. Max of 6.5' to count as required ones for front/rear.
 
  #3  
Old 05-15-20, 01:39 PM
Geochurchi's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: United States
Posts: 4,964
Received 88 Votes on 83 Posts
Hi, receptacles will need point of use covers. https://www.homedepot.com/p/1-Gang-W...IU-1/206469236.
Geo

 
  #4  
Old 05-15-20, 10:04 PM
D
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: usa
Posts: 219
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Yes I will be using the appropriate outdoor housings
Affirmative on height question

I plan on installing four in total one at each corner of the house is that ok per code?
The first one in the chain being GFI the remaining three WR

Is all this acceptable or are there some other code particulars I should be aware of?


 

Last edited by diy409; 05-15-20 at 10:31 PM.
  #5  
Old 05-15-20, 10:15 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 60,936
Received 1,351 Votes on 1,249 Posts
Yes.... by code....weather rated devices need to be used even with in-use covers.

From Cooper electric....
Designed with enhanced nylon and corrosion resistant metal components Weather resistant receptacles are extra durable.

Personally I think it's a lot of hot air as the WR receptacles are just as easily affected by water and I've seen them rust just as bad.
 
  #6  
Old 05-16-20, 05:56 AM
pcboss's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 15,224
Received 105 Votes on 91 Posts
Do you really want to walk to the other side of the house if the gfi trips? Not a code issue, just a convenience issue.
 
PJmax voted this post useful.
  #7  
Old 05-21-20, 01:59 PM
D
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: usa
Posts: 219
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Please correct me if I’m wrong on any the following but I believe my choices are
A)use a GFI breaker in the fuse box and regular outlets on the outside
B)GFI on the first and let the remaining three be protected by that first outlet
or
C)is it also possible to use a GFI for every outlet in the chain Or convenience aside is that just an expensive redundancy?

Since I haven’t heard anything to the contrary I am assuming four outlets total
one at each corner is acceptable to code?

thanks

 
  #8  
Old 05-21-20, 02:23 PM
Geochurchi's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: United States
Posts: 4,964
Received 88 Votes on 83 Posts
Hi, C is not an option, which ever location you think is more convenient for you would be fine for the GFCI protection, I would probably install it in the panel if space permits.
Geo
 
  #9  
Old 05-21-20, 02:46 PM
pcboss's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 15,224
Received 105 Votes on 91 Posts
You can install a gfi at each corner wired using only the line side terminals.
 
CasualJoe voted this post useful.
  #10  
Old 05-22-20, 05:59 AM
Geochurchi's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: United States
Posts: 4,964
Received 88 Votes on 83 Posts
Hi, sorry C could be an option , I believe I had a brain cramp.
Geo
 
  #11  
Old 05-22-20, 10:56 AM
Z
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 5,573
Received 161 Votes on 143 Posts
I am assuming four outlets total one at each corner is acceptable to code?
Possibly. Code requires a receptacle at each entrance and within 25' of any outdoor appliance (AC condenser, generator, etc). So putting them at the corners of the house may or may not satisfy these requirements based on the layout of your house.

You can of course add more than code requires - as long as you meet those basic requirements.
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: