Disconnect flag terminal inside AC motor

Old 05-25-20, 07:54 PM
D
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Disconnect flag terminal inside AC motor

I'm new to the electrical motor wiring and I'm attempting to assemble a motor to replace an old industrial singer sewing machine. I'm looking for any tips on how to disconnect the red and black terminals from an AC motor to switch the rotation of the motor. It looks as if they are flag terminals and I've attached an image of the motor wiring. I can attempt to pry them off or pull them, but wanted to check with the forum community to make sure I don't break anything!

Thanks,
Dan

Attached Images  
Old 05-26-20, 04:47 AM
Received 154 Votes on 140 Posts
Hi, use a pair of needle nose pliers and pull straight up.
Geo

DanOffenbacker voted this post useful.
Old 05-26-20, 05:01 AM
B
Received 182 Votes on 162 Posts
To change rotation of an induction motor, you have to reverse connections of the start or run winding. Depending on where and how the manufacturer made these connections. it may be impossible to do. Manufacturer and model # would help. If the motor tag has a schematic, provide a picture.

DanOffenbacker voted this post useful.
Old 05-26-20, 09:52 AM
D
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Thank you both Geo and beelzebob. Geo, that was the exact answer I was looking for, thank you. I had to pull a little hard with the needle nose pliers so I just wanted to make sure I wasn't going to break anything. Beelezebob, I appreciate the more in depth response. The model can definitely have a reverse connection (attached the wiring diagram).