Old work/retrofit electrical metal boxes

Reply

  #1  
Old 06-01-20, 09:00 AM
D
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Chicago land
Posts: 673
Received 1 Vote on 1 Post
Old work/retrofit electrical metal boxes

Just wondering what products people use to retrofit electrical outlets (metal - conduit)
I have used this product a coupe of tiems:
https://www.amazon.com/Hubbell-Raco-.../dp/B000BQMERA
Not bad, but not 100% happy. Good for no stud situations, but requires a rather large cutout, especially around the clamp screws. Also, while box has knockouts ll around. Effectively can only used on rear.

Other option is Madison clip:
https://www.grainger.com/product/RAC...tch-Box-30EJ95
Never used it.

Also used regular box when stud was an option. Screw from inside the box into stud. A bit fidly to get screw in. Ends up being at an angle.
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 06-01-20, 09:45 AM
Z
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 5,141
Received 84 Votes on 79 Posts
I use the largest metal box available that will fit, and madison bars to secure it when trying to reduce drywall work. But if needed, I have no issue with making a larger hole and using a new-work box with brackets and doing some drywall/plaster repair work afterward. Of course depends how much of the room/house is being redone.

Doesn't help you with conduit, but I've had good luck with Arlington screw-in remodel boxes too:
https://www.gordonelectricsupply.com...ce-Box/5978716
 
  #3  
Old 06-01-20, 10:00 AM
A
Member
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 1,564
Received 34 Votes on 30 Posts
Most of the Madison Clips are too short for anything but the thinnest drywall. Instead I use the battleship version - https://www.homedepot.com/p/Steel-Ci...-25R/202596361
 
  #4  
Old 06-01-20, 10:07 AM
D
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Chicago land
Posts: 673
Received 1 Vote on 1 Post
How stable is a box mounted with clips? Also, using a single gang box, is there enough clearance for a receptacle such GFCI?

@Zorfdt I am jealous about all the handy products that are available in the non-metal market....
 
  #5  
Old 06-01-20, 02:29 PM
A
Member
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 1,564
Received 34 Votes on 30 Posts
Boxes are plenty stable using clips. Curl then ends then use pliers to crimp gets them out of the way and gives plenty of room for GFCIs. No tape needed.
 
  #6  
Old 06-01-20, 05:06 PM
Tolyn Ironhand's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Twin Cities, MN
Posts: 13,435
Received 155 Votes on 139 Posts
These work well with F straps: https://www.homedepot.com/p/3-in-x-2...8500/100548372

I have likely installed 1000+ of them. They also make a 3 1/2" deep version for use with GFCI devices
 
  #7  
Old 06-02-20, 08:36 AM
Geochurchi's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 4,514
Received 43 Votes on 41 Posts
Hi, what are you trying to install, What kind of wiring method ?
Geo
 
  #8  
Old 06-02-20, 10:04 AM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 57,188
Received 850 Votes on 796 Posts
The cut-in gems that Tolyn showed are like the staple of our industry. You definitely want the deep one for a GFI receptacle. The bars must be installed perfectly flat when folded into the box. Most GFI receptacles use recessed side screws to they don't hit the box.

Working with conduit requires a lot of patience when doing old work.
 
Reply
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: