Adding 240v Microwave to Oven Circuit?

Reply

  #1  
Old 06-02-20, 11:32 AM
P
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2020
Posts: 1
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Question Adding 240v Microwave to Oven Circuit?

Can someone tell me how to wire a new 240v microwave in to existing 240v Oven circuit? I THINK it is wired in parallel. I want to be sure how I do it is safe and code. Do I ad an additional Junction box? Can you tell me what wires connect and where? Hope that makes sense? Basically need a simple wire diagram indicating connections.

Thanks so much!
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 06-02-20, 11:35 AM
J
Member
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: welland ontario
Posts: 7,379
Received 199 Votes on 176 Posts
How many amps is the oven circuit? How many amps does the microwave need?
Most likely you need a new circuit just for the microwave.
 
CasualJoe voted this post useful.
  #3  
Old 06-02-20, 04:04 PM
P
Group Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: NC, USA
Posts: 22,704
Received 477 Votes on 438 Posts
Where are you located? In North America microwaves are 120 volt, 60hz. If you have a 240 volt one then it probably needs 50hz and won't work in N. America.
 
CasualJoe voted this post useful.
  #4  
Old 06-02-20, 04:09 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 56,967
Received 824 Votes on 774 Posts
Welcome to the forums.

Member from Texas.
There is no code compliant way to connect a microwave in parallel to an oven circuit.
 
CasualJoe voted this post useful.
  #5  
Old 06-02-20, 04:59 PM
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Trumbull, CT, USA
Posts: 483
Received 10 Votes on 10 Posts
@ Pilot Dane,
It is probably one with a built in convection oven (A microwave & regular oven combined). I wonder if a small sub panel would be code compliant (although you run the risk of tripping the main oven's breaker if you use both at the same time)
 
  #6  
Old 06-03-20, 04:58 AM
Geochurchi's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 4,482
Received 42 Votes on 40 Posts
Hi, post the specs. of the microwave oven.
Geo
 
  #7  
Old 06-03-20, 05:00 AM
A
Member
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 3,976
Received 56 Votes on 54 Posts
If a non-portable appliance would use more than half the amperes rating of the circuit it is connected to then it should have its own circuit.

Every appliance, tool, or other device has a maximum circuit rating which rating is not always easy to find out. Most likely the microwave oven has a maximum circuit rating smaller than the rating of a circuit that would be needed to operate both it and the main oven at the same time.

Partly because general purpose branch circuits may be 20 amps, all lights, small appliances, electronic gear, etc.for use on such circuits have maximum circuit amperage of at least 20 to meet safety standards such as Underwriter Labs'.
 
Reply
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: