Adding 240v Microwave to Oven Circuit?


  #1  
Old 06-02-20, 11:32 AM
P
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2020
Posts: 1
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Question Adding 240v Microwave to Oven Circuit?

Can someone tell me how to wire a new 240v microwave in to existing 240v Oven circuit? I THINK it is wired in parallel. I want to be sure how I do it is safe and code. Do I ad an additional Junction box? Can you tell me what wires connect and where? Hope that makes sense? Basically need a simple wire diagram indicating connections.

Thanks so much!
 
  #2  
Old 06-02-20, 11:35 AM
J
Member
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: welland ontario
Posts: 8,287
Received 442 Votes on 367 Posts
How many amps is the oven circuit? How many amps does the microwave need?
Most likely you need a new circuit just for the microwave.
 
CasualJoe voted this post useful.
  #3  
Old 06-02-20, 04:04 PM
P
Group Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: NC, USA
Posts: 28,161
Received 1,575 Votes on 1,416 Posts
Where are you located? In North America microwaves are 120 volt, 60hz. If you have a 240 volt one then it probably needs 50hz and won't work in N. America.
 
CasualJoe voted this post useful.
  #4  
Old 06-02-20, 04:09 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Jersey
Posts: 70,180
Received 2,980 Votes on 2,688 Posts
Welcome to the forums.

Member from Texas.
There is no code compliant way to connect a microwave in parallel to an oven circuit.
 
CasualJoe voted this post useful.
  #5  
Old 06-02-20, 04:59 PM
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: United States
Posts: 1,063
Received 62 Votes on 58 Posts
@ Pilot Dane,
It is probably one with a built in convection oven (A microwave & regular oven combined). I wonder if a small sub panel would be code compliant (although you run the risk of tripping the main oven's breaker if you use both at the same time)
 
  #6  
Old 06-03-20, 04:58 AM
Geochurchi's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 5,584
Received 154 Votes on 140 Posts
Hi, post the specs. of the microwave oven.
Geo
 
  #7  
Old 06-03-20, 05:00 AM
A
Member
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 4,931
Received 215 Votes on 198 Posts
If a non-portable appliance would use more than half the amperes rating of the circuit it is connected to then it should have its own circuit.

Every appliance, tool, or other device has a maximum circuit rating which rating is not always easy to find out. Most likely the microwave oven has a maximum circuit rating smaller than the rating of a circuit that would be needed to operate both it and the main oven at the same time.

Partly because general purpose branch circuits may be 20 amps, all lights, small appliances, electronic gear, etc.for use on such circuits have maximum circuit amperage of at least 20 to meet safety standards such as Underwriter Labs'.
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: