Is this product code compliant?


  #1  
Old 06-02-20, 11:57 AM
K
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: USA
Posts: 92
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Is this product code compliant?

https://www.hubbell.com/raco/en/Prod.../405/p/1670208

If you use 14/2 NMB you need 6 cubic inches.

This box is 6.5 cubic inches.

BUT with the internal clamp you lose 2 cubic inches according to code.
 
  #2  
Old 06-02-20, 12:42 PM
J
Member
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: welland ontario
Posts: 8,282
Received 441 Votes on 367 Posts
The cable itself counts as 6 including the ground. You have no room to add a switch or second cable. I don't see a use for that box.
 
  #3  
Old 06-02-20, 01:26 PM
K
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: USA
Posts: 92
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I'm using it for a light sconce with a pipe behind it.
 
  #4  
Old 06-02-20, 03:26 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Jersey
Posts: 70,055
Received 2,952 Votes on 2,664 Posts
In that application.... with no device..... it is code compliant.
 
  #5  
Old 06-02-20, 03:39 PM
A
Member
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 1,790
Received 79 Votes on 71 Posts
If the light sconce has a rated wiring volume you should be able to count it.
 
  #6  
Old 06-02-20, 03:47 PM
K
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: USA
Posts: 92
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Doesn't the internal cable clamp reduce the cubic inches of the box?
 
  #7  
Old 06-02-20, 04:29 PM
Tolyn Ironhand's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: United States
Posts: 14,963
Received 595 Votes on 511 Posts
There are many other boxes that are the same size as those. Is your wall extra shallow?
 
  #8  
Old 06-02-20, 05:59 PM
K
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: USA
Posts: 92
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Wall has a big pipe behind it.

Thats the issue.
 
  #9  
Old 06-02-20, 06:28 PM
Tolyn Ironhand's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: United States
Posts: 14,963
Received 595 Votes on 511 Posts
How much space is between the pipe and the face of the stud? If you are running a single cable into the box many times a shallow pan box works well. https://www.homedepot.com/p/4-in-Dra...8293/100574367

I have also recently found a pancake box that is for remodeling: https://www.menards.com/main/electri...6260502045.htm but has a slightly larger flange that bay not be hidden behind some smaller sconces.

Also, the canopy of the light fixture will accommodate some of the wiring.
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: