Off Set Nipple

Reply

  #1  
Old 06-05-20, 04:42 PM
D
Forum Topic Moderator
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 983
Received 31 Votes on 24 Posts
Off Set Nipple

I'm laying conduit in ground, then up to a sub panel. Unfortunately, when the guy installed the sub panel, he installed it right above the ground rod.
Since I cant (or really dont want to) dig right up to or around the ground rod to bring the conduit out of the ground, I thought I'd get a off set nipple & bring the conduit out of the ground just out from the ground rod & sub panel, then use the off set nipple to bring the conduit into the sub panel.

The problem is, no one in town stocks this 1-1/4" nipple. But, I can get a off set meter nipple. Its more expensive, & its short. My question is though, can I use this "meter" nipple in place of a standard off set nipple? I am sure you guys know this meter nipple is threaded on one end & a bell on the other end. So, I'd have to put this on my conduit, then straight into the bottom of the sub panel & use a nut thingy to attach & secure it to the sub panel box. Again, I'm sure yall know that but....... can I use it in this scenario? ...... and why should I NOT use it?

(Just for thought, The sub panel is about 30" or so off the ground. I am sure the 1-1/4" conduit will bend/flex enough to get me into the sub panel if need be.)
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 06-05-20, 04:58 PM
pcboss's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 15,113
Received 69 Votes on 59 Posts
Do you have PVC conduit? If so, it can be bent using heat to create your offset.
 
  #3  
Old 06-05-20, 06:12 PM
D
Forum Topic Moderator
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 983
Received 31 Votes on 24 Posts
Yes, its schedule 40 PVC.........
 
  #4  
Old 06-06-20, 04:58 AM
Geochurchi's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 4,482
Received 42 Votes on 40 Posts
Hi, how much offset do you need?
Geo
 
  #5  
Old 06-06-20, 07:46 AM
Tolyn Ironhand's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Twin Cities, MN
Posts: 13,382
Received 148 Votes on 132 Posts
Yes, its schedule 40 PVC.........
PVC can be easily bent with a heat gun or a torch. If using a torch make sure to keep it moving to not singe the pipe.
 
  #6  
Old 06-06-20, 09:05 AM
D
Forum Topic Moderator
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 983
Received 31 Votes on 24 Posts
Geo, I could probably get away with 1-1/2" - 2". But, the farther I can stay away from the ground rod the better I'd like it. BTW, this is the ground rod for the main panel in the house.

In reality, I know it wont hurt to dig right up to the ground rod cause I suspect its 8' long but, I'd really prefer to stay away from it as much as possible.

I think I'll be fine coming out of the ground, up to the sub 30" or so without brackets/securing it to the house. Its not going to be inspected etc, & we have to use a trimmer in that area anyway. No chance of getting a mower or anything else in that area.

So, I'll get as close as I can & use a heat gun if I need to. It sounds like y'all are not in favor of using the meter nipple. Just FYI, at $4.50 each, cost ain't really a deterrent for me in this situation. I'll only need two if it was ok & easier.

Thanks everybody for your input. I appreciate it.
 
  #7  
Old 06-06-20, 06:10 PM
D
Forum Topic Moderator
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 983
Received 31 Votes on 24 Posts
Update...... related rant & a 2nd question.

Well, I got the 3/4" conduit for a single 120V line to the pump laid & connected to the sub panel.... wire pulled & the pump & its light actually worked. Imagine that. After 20 years (since I've done this), I made a light come on from scratch.
I got the conduit close enough that I got it in the sub panel but Its a just a hair crooked. Hey, I got that thing tightened down & it aint comin' out so I'm happy.
Now to get my 1-1/4" line in there.

My rant & question. I now have two 1-1/4" lines to connect to this sub panel. There's only one knock out large enough to accommodate conduit this size on the bottom. There is one on each side that I can use but I am coming out of the ground so its going to be a chore to get #6 wire through a short 90. I guess I could use a regular 90 but I only have 30" from the ground & I have already dug my trench for my conduit.
So, cut another 1-1/4" hole in the bottom some how or somehow come through the side?
Again, I have one knock out in the bottom that will take one, but one is gonna have to go in the side or.... ?????

My inexperience in laying conduit & wire is really trying my patience.

Can I use a hole saw of some sort on the sub panel? Idea? Suggestions?
 
  #8  
Old 06-06-20, 06:14 PM
Tolyn Ironhand's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Twin Cities, MN
Posts: 13,382
Received 148 Votes on 132 Posts
Yes, you can drill/cut your own holes as needed in a panel. I use a KO punch but my kit is over $1000 so using a hole saw is fine. You can also come in the side using a conduit like an LB, LL, or LR. They are all available in 1 1/4" and PVC. Whichever is best for you.
 
  #9  
Old 06-06-20, 07:11 PM
D
Forum Topic Moderator
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 983
Received 31 Votes on 24 Posts
Excellent! Thanks Tolyn! I used one of those to go into the pump house today & it never crossed my mind to use one on this sub panel.... but then again, inexperience.

I have a hole saw set but I'm not sure if its Bi-Metal or not as I don't usually work with metal like this. I'll look & see in the morning. If not, HD has a Milwaukee set for about $90 with a 1-3/8" in it. I'd rather go in the bottom but, if I need to, I'll get an LB, LL, or LR thingy.

I appreciate your help. I need to get this done & covered up before this tropical storm comes in here Monday.
 
  #10  
Old 06-07-20, 04:41 AM
L
Member
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 1,397
Received 48 Votes on 44 Posts
Step drill bit is also a good choice.

When you don't need different sizes of hole saw, home depot also sell them individually.
 
Reply
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: