Go Back  DoItYourself.com Community Forums > Electrical, AC & DC. Electronic Equipment and Computers > Electrical - AC & DC
Reload this Page >

Need relay to turn on dosing pump for H2O2 injection into well water system

Old 06-12-20, 06:40 PM
J
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts

Newbie here, and first post. OK, here's the story: My water is supplied by a well. I have a water softener and 2 backwash filters on the system to treat the water. I did all the installation, so I'm knowledgeable about the system. Those filters and softeners do a good job of treating the water, but we also have sulfur smell problem with our water. To remedy that problem, I bought a hydrogen peroxide injection system to inject a metered amount of H2O2 into the water flow after the pressure tank. This oxidizes the sulfur and removes the smell. There is a 15 gallon tank that I will with a diluted hydrogen peroxide solution. There is a small diaphragm dosing pump that is attached to the top of the peroxide tank and it has a tube coming out of it that is connected to the house water piping and injects the peroxide solution into the water flow. The pump runs on 120 voltage. Then, I have a flow meter installed after the pressure tank and before the backwash filters. This flow meter has a reed switch that is part of it that sends very low voltage signals to the dosing pump when water is flowing through the flow meter....for example, when you turn on a faucet in the house. The dosing pump has a connector plugged into it that receives this signal, and there are electronics inside the pump that are supposed to trigger the pump to stroke 3 times per gallon of water flowing through the flow meter. This makes the pump a proportional pump that increases the number of strokes per minute depending on the volume of water flowing through the flow meter. So, for example, if you have one sink faucet on, it will pump 3 strokes every 15 seconds or so. But, if you have a couple of sinks running and the shower running,