Power entry module iec 320 help

Reply

  #1  
Old 06-25-20, 11:36 AM
D
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2020
Posts: 5
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Power entry module iec 320 help

Is the fuse clipped in on this or do I need to wire the fuse into the circuit?
I canít see that itís clipped in but when I wire the live through the fuse it shorts.

Hereís what switch Iím using: schurter AC Power entry module 6762.




The wire photo is what I tried.
 

Last edited by PJmax; 06-25-20 at 12:09 PM. Reason: resized pics
  #2  
Old 06-25-20, 11:42 AM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 60,786
Received 1,324 Votes on 1,224 Posts
Welcome to the forums.

It's wired incorrectly.
I can help you.
What are you connecting to this ? appliance ?
 
  #3  
Old 06-25-20, 12:03 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 60,786
Received 1,324 Votes on 1,224 Posts
Assuming this is a 120v appliance/device.
The neutral/blue doesn't get switched unless specifically called for.
You only need to use one of the switches. The three colored dots are where you device connects.
The two red lines are connecting the internal fuseholder.


 
  #4  
Old 06-25-20, 12:31 PM
D
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2020
Posts: 5
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Hi,

Nice to meet you and thank you for the quick reply.

the switch is going on a light fixture. Switch connects to a meanwell hlg-480h-c2100A

i was told the switch would work for both 220v and 120v so the cord would only have to be swapped out to change voltage. I was plugging into a converter at 220v and it shorts.

does polarity matter on which side of the fuse I wire too?

i tried it without wiring in the fuse and it lit up.

thank you again for your help. I canít understand how Iím not getting this everything seems correct.
 
  #5  
Old 06-25-20, 12:36 PM
D
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2020
Posts: 5
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Didnít see your first response. Sorry about that Iím going to try what you posted and see if it works. Thanks again.
 
  #6  
Old 06-25-20, 12:37 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 60,786
Received 1,324 Votes on 1,224 Posts
Your pictured wiring and my diagram are nowhere near close. Your wiring creates a dead short.
If you are using this switch in a 230-240v circuit..... connect the blue wire to the switch so that both lines are switched.


 
  #7  
Old 06-25-20, 12:46 PM
D
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2020
Posts: 5
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
That makes sense. The picture you just posted makes complete sense. Iím self taught and do a lot of diy I was taring my hair out trying to figure out my mistake and was so embarrassed to even ask. Thank you.

so with that diagram will that only work for 220v? So In order to swap out cords and run on 120v later Iíll need to rewire the switch?

Im going to research how to test all this with my multimeter this weekend so I can check my connections better moving forward. From what I can see if I do that I wonít have this issue again.
 
  #8  
Old 06-25-20, 12:51 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 60,786
Received 1,324 Votes on 1,224 Posts
You can use the second diagram as it is ok to disconnect the neutral from a light fixture.
 
  #9  
Old 06-25-20, 01:00 PM
D
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2020
Posts: 5
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
It worked!!

I feel so stupid I had it wired backwards... I looked at my old iec 320 switch and itís literally the same wiring just this one I have to wire the fuse in. Iíve literally wired a bunch of these but always used cheap ones from amazon but recently had a few burn out so wanted to get something better. I was so intimidated by having to wire the fuse in that I missed it and couldnít see my mistake. As embarrassing as it is I literally spent hrs on YouTube and google looking for this exact switch to figure it out before coming here and the hole time it was right in front of my face.


thank you so much for the help!
 
  #10  
Old 06-25-20, 09:41 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 60,786
Received 1,324 Votes on 1,224 Posts
No problem. You are very welcome.
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: