Split a 60A line?

Reply

  #1  
Old 06-25-20, 04:28 PM
M
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2020
Posts: 3
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Split a 60A line?

Can I split a 60A line from a panel and somehow wire a 20A receptacle off of it?
 
  #2  
Old 06-25-20, 04:40 PM
Tolyn Ironhand's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: United States
Posts: 13,799
Received 252 Votes on 220 Posts
What is the 60 amp line being used for now? How many wires? Need more info.
 
  #3  
Old 06-25-20, 05:13 PM
M
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2020
Posts: 3
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
60A line is direct wired to a large pottery kiln. Black, Red, White, Green. 20A line would be for a smaller kiln but the two would never be on at the same time.
 
  #4  
Old 06-25-20, 05:44 PM
A
Member
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 4,283
Received 109 Votes on 101 Posts
1. A subpanel in between is needed to provide a breaker of no more than 20 amps protecting the "20 amp" line.
2. When a subpanel is installed, a subpanel load analysis should be done. Sample rules near the rules for whole house load analysis. Depending on the exact power draw of the existing larger kiln, the original 60 amp line may or may not be adequate.
 
  #5  
Old 06-25-20, 06:26 PM
pcboss's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 15,218
Received 103 Votes on 89 Posts
The line to the kiln may not have a neutral needed for the 120 volt circuit.
 
  #6  
Old 06-25-20, 06:35 PM
J
Member
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: welland ontario
Posts: 7,719
Received 295 Votes on 254 Posts
You can not install a 20 amp receptacle direct to the 60 amp line. You must install a sub panel with a 20 amp breaker for the new receptacle and a 60 amp breaker for the kiln if that is still in use.
You also need to have a neutral, which you may not have if the kiln is 240 volts only.
 
  #7  
Old 06-25-20, 06:56 PM
Tolyn Ironhand's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: United States
Posts: 13,799
Received 252 Votes on 220 Posts
Black, Red, White, Green
It appears the OP has four wires.

As others have posted, your best option is to install a sub-panel with the 60A feed and then feed the existing kiln and the smaller kiln with separate circuits/breakers.
 
  #8  
Old 06-25-20, 10:02 PM
M
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2020
Posts: 3
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Thank you all for your insights and precautions. Much appreciated!
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: