Need Help

Reply

  #1  
Old 06-27-20, 01:42 PM
M
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2020
Posts: 17
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Need Help


I disconnected to put in new switches and now have lost power downstairs. Can anyone tell me the proper wiring for this circuit?
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 06-27-20, 03:51 PM
J
Member
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: welland ontario
Posts: 7,387
Received 202 Votes on 178 Posts
You don't have enough wires for a second three way AND power downstairs.
If power downstairs is actually a three way switch then we need to know what colour is on the COMMON/black screw and any other connections in the second switch box.
Which switch controls the ceiling? it looks like the single pole should be the one.
 
  #3  
Old 06-27-20, 04:20 PM
M
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2020
Posts: 17
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Switch

not sure where wire goes downstairs but Everything was working before I disconnected
 

Last edited by Msaleeby; 06-27-20 at 04:22 PM. Reason: Error
  #4  
Old 06-27-20, 04:25 PM
M
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2020
Posts: 17
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Need help

This is a possibility


 

Last edited by PJmax; 06-27-20 at 06:26 PM. Reason: enhanced picture
  #5  
Old 06-27-20, 06:28 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 57,102
Received 840 Votes on 787 Posts
In your diagram you are showing three cables.
2) two wire cables and 1) three wire cable.
Is this correct ?

You are showing us a receptacle that looks to be switched. We can see that it is connected to a three wire cable. Is that the cable that goes to the switch ? If it is..... it is not a three way switch circuit.

As mentioned..... your wiring and diagram do not support a three way switch.
Your switch should have had a red wire on it. That doesn't mean it's three way.
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

This looks like what you should have using two single pole switches.
 
  #6  
Old 06-28-20, 04:09 AM
M
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2020
Posts: 17
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Need help

thank you. I will give it a shot
 
  #7  
Old 06-28-20, 05:45 AM
M
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2020
Posts: 17
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Need help

That popped the breaker. Hereís more

info

There were two switches in the box. One controlled upstairs outlet whicH is pictured and the other a light. The three wire goes to lower floors and supplies power. It all worked before I disconnected. The hot wire comes from wire coming from wall


This is the downstairs outlet
 

Last edited by Msaleeby; 06-28-20 at 08:03 AM. Reason: Error
  #8  
Old 06-28-20, 10:47 AM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 57,102
Received 840 Votes on 787 Posts
I'm a little confused. Why are the cables out of the wall ?
We've seen the bottom picture already.
It looks like you have a bare ground wire connected in a neutral splice ?
All grounds get connected by themselves.

Do you have a voltage tester or meter ? We need to find out which wires are is hot.
If you tripped a breaker there may be two circuits involved here or possible switch leg.
 
  #9  
Old 06-28-20, 11:06 AM
M
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2020
Posts: 17
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
need help

I took outlet out looking for path of wire. Is this diagram clearer?




 

Last edited by PJmax; 06-28-20 at 11:14 AM. Reason: modified/labeld pic
  #10  
Old 06-28-20, 11:10 AM
M
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2020
Posts: 17
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Need help

I do have a meter but there is no power in the downstairs outlet. The only power I have is from the two wire coming from the upstairs outlet.
 
  #11  
Old 06-28-20, 11:16 AM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 57,102
Received 840 Votes on 787 Posts
I circled an area in blue. Is this the wire that is hot ?
If yes..... that means that the always live and switched recp.in the blue is working correctly.
 
  #12  
Old 06-28-20, 11:56 AM
M
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2020
Posts: 17
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Need help

yes that is hot. I need to know how to hook it up with the three wire and the two wire. They did have a pigtail in the box
 
  #13  
Old 06-28-20, 01:45 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 57,102
Received 840 Votes on 787 Posts
Is the receptacle in that circle working correctly ?
Both live and switched.
 
  #14  
Old 06-28-20, 05:38 PM
M
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2020
Posts: 17
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Need help

yes the bottom is of the switch is hot the top was controlled by the switch I disconnected. Iím pretty sure there was a three way switch in the box
 
  #15  
Old 06-30-20, 07:10 AM
M
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2020
Posts: 17
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Need help


This is the outlet controlled by the switch I removed The bottom is hot, there is no power running to the red wire so the top outlet is dead. I have two 2 wires and one three wire that ran to two switches . One switch works the outlet the other a porch light. This box also ran power to the lower floors. This sounds a little like the situation you helped dthyn23 with but I canít figure out how to get power to the top outlet and lower floors. Any help would be greatly appreciated
 
  #16  
Old 06-30-20, 07:32 AM
M
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2020
Posts: 17
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Need help

Sorry ! After further review that switch I disconnected does not operate that outlet. It is just the source of power for the switch box I disconnected. Iím back to square one. I need power from that two wire to feed the three wire which supplies power on the lower floors and a two wire which goes to the ceiling
 
  #17  
Old 06-30-20, 09:26 AM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 57,102
Received 840 Votes on 787 Posts
My diagram in post 6 is the logical connection method.
As long as the three white wires were connected by themselves.... nothing should have tripped.
It's obvious that the three wire cable feeds downstairs. Black is always live and red is switched.

Try connecting the white and black from the hot cable directly to the light cable only.
See if the light works.
 
  #18  
Old 06-30-20, 11:54 AM
M
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2020
Posts: 17
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Need help

when I hooked the two wire to the ceiling 2 wire I get power to the light. I am not using a switch
 
  #19  
Old 06-30-20, 12:26 PM
M
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2020
Posts: 17
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Need help


I have put all the blacks together with a pigtail to the three way switch Black on Black screw red on opposite side and all whites together. Still no power on lower floorís
 
  #20  
Old 06-30-20, 02:22 PM
M
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2020
Posts: 17
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Need help

I now wired it with single pole switch . Black wire on Bottom screw and red on top. Still no power on lower floors. Voltage tester shows power in all wires
 
  #21  
Old 06-30-20, 05:05 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 57,102
Received 840 Votes on 787 Posts
Ok.... so we've confirmed that the ceiling light works and requires hot and neutral from that box. I was almost afraid it was a switchloop.

Does the switched circuit on the red wire work ?
That looks like a 3w switch. If you use that..... use the black screw and one brass screw.
Make sure that white splice is solid. It sounds like you have power downstairs and may be missing neutral.
 
  #22  
Old 06-30-20, 06:21 PM
M
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2020
Posts: 17
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Need help

I do think I am missing neutral downstairs because the three wire going downstairs is live. Iím just not sure how to achieve this. When I use the 3 way I use the black screw on the right and the brass on the left side of the switch . still no power downstairs although the 3 wire is hot
 
  #23  
Old 06-30-20, 07:14 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 57,102
Received 840 Votes on 787 Posts
You have the hot cable coming into the box. You connected it to the upstairs light cable and it worked so you confirmed you have hot and neutral at that box.

If you connect all three white wires in the box...... then you have neutral to the light and there should be neutral in the three wire cable going down. If you have power on red and black downstairs.... you need to investigate where the neutral is lost. It can be at the switch box or at the receptacle.

This is really a very basic circuit.
 
  #24  
Old 07-01-20, 04:05 AM
M
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2020
Posts: 17
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Need help

there is no power in the downstairs is there another configuration I can try. You mentioned a switch loop?
 
  #25  
Old 07-01-20, 02:09 PM
M
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2020
Posts: 17
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Need help

can I leave out the switches, connect all black all white where should the red go?
 
  #26  
Old 07-01-20, 07:56 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 57,102
Received 840 Votes on 787 Posts
Connect the red wire with the black wires.

You got something else going on that I'm not aware of.
If you followed my wiring way back in post 6..... everything should be working.
 
Reply
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: