HEPL! 5 light switches, 4 sets of wires

Reply

  #1  
Old 06-27-20, 07:09 PM
M
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2020
Posts: 9
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
HEPL! 5 light switches, 4 sets of wires

Hi There,

I was upgrading a smart switch and I pulled all of them out, now i do not know how to wire them back =<

I have:
5 gang box with 4 sets of wires from top, and 4 sets of wire from bottom.
each sets of wires has 1 black, 1 white and 1 green.



Any help would be greatly appreciated!
 

Last edited by PJmax; 06-27-20 at 07:30 PM. Reason: added labeled diagram
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 06-27-20, 07:12 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 57,102
Received 840 Votes on 787 Posts
Welcome to the forums.

You're kidding me. Why would you do that ?

You WILL need a meter.
You need to start by writing down the five switched items in the order installed from L to R.
You have 8 cables. We assume at least 5 of them are devices. At least one should be hot.
 
  #3  
Old 06-27-20, 07:14 PM
M
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2020
Posts: 9
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
reply

Thanks, its for a smart switch upgrade, I thought it was easy..
 
  #4  
Old 06-27-20, 07:16 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 57,102
Received 840 Votes on 787 Posts
Replacing one switch is easy. It doesn't require removing everything.
Now you are starting from scratch.
 
  #5  
Old 06-27-20, 07:22 PM
M
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2020
Posts: 9
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
re

I figured that out lol. I do have a meter, but i am not reading any voltage from any of them...
 
  #6  
Old 06-27-20, 07:31 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 57,102
Received 840 Votes on 787 Posts
Ok.... I upgraded your diagram. The switches are labeled A-E and the wires are 1-8.
Grounds are not shown. It is understood that every ground wire needs to be connected together.

There must be a live cable. Check each wire pair.
 
  #7  
Old 06-27-20, 07:33 PM
M
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2020
Posts: 9
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
re

will do now, Thanks for the picture upgrade.
 
  #8  
Old 06-27-20, 07:43 PM
M
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2020
Posts: 9
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
re

OK, I checked all of them, C7 is hot
 
  #9  
Old 06-27-20, 07:52 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 57,102
Received 840 Votes on 787 Posts
Not C7..... just 7.
The letters represent what the switch controls..... ie: ceiling light, outside light, etc.
You should post what each switch is for.

Cable 7 is hot. Now what you will need to do is to connect cable 7 to each of the other cables one at a time. You will need to write down what each cable is for. You should come up with five lights. If you don't see anything come on.... it could be passing thru to a receptacle.

If I was doing this testing.... I'd be doing it live. You do it as you are comfortable. Turn the breaker off each time if that makes you more comfortable. Don't be foolish.
 
  #10  
Old 06-27-20, 08:01 PM
M
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2020
Posts: 9
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
re

do i need to connect both white and black or just the black?
 
  #11  
Old 06-27-20, 08:07 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 57,102
Received 840 Votes on 787 Posts
Both wires..... hot and neutral.
 
  #12  
Old 06-27-20, 08:14 PM
M
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2020
Posts: 9
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Yay!

I got it working! thanks so much!
 
  #13  
Old 06-27-20, 08:18 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 57,102
Received 840 Votes on 787 Posts
You know how all the wires connect ?
 
  #14  
Old 06-27-20, 09:15 PM
M
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2020
Posts: 9
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
re

Yup, apparently, there are a set of wire that is actually doing nothing in box E.
 
  #15  
Old 06-27-20, 09:20 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 57,102
Received 840 Votes on 787 Posts
It may go to a receptacle or another area. Keep that cable in mind if you find something dead.
 
  #16  
Old 06-27-20, 09:26 PM
M
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2020
Posts: 9
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
re

Got it! thanks so much! you are very helpful!
 
Reply
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: