Unique outlet

Reply

  #1  
Old 06-28-20, 03:51 PM
R
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2017
Posts: 8
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Unique outlet

Hi folks! Hope all is well!
Can some one please tell me what that weird looking outlet in the picture is? It even has a small door to close it.

It has 2 sockets in it which look like they were meant to have to 2 light bulbs screwed into them. ( I know it sounds funny, but that's exactly how they look like inside with threading). I also have included a picture of the back of this outlet.
Oh yeah, one more thing. This outlet is asking for 30 amps according to a sticker on the door.
Thank you for your reply and time.
Be well !!



 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 06-28-20, 03:54 PM
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Trumbull, CT, USA
Posts: 499
Received 11 Votes on 11 Posts
Edison base fuse holder that is missing the fuses.
Before you put a fuse in I would check to make sure what it goes to.
 
remodel566 voted this post useful.
  #3  
Old 06-28-20, 04:12 PM
R
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2017
Posts: 8
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Thanks for the quick reply bud!
I am trying to knock a wall down and this outlet is the only thing stopping me. Can you tell me how to eliminate this outlet? It looks like it has not been used in like 40 years. When I bought the house I never gave it much attention to it when I saw it the first time.
I even stuck my finger inside once because I didn't think it was electrical.
It seems that there might be a fat BX wire going from the back of this outlet to the main panel; but I could be wrong.

a) Can you please tell me how to completely eliminate this outlet?
b) Everything works fine in the house without the fuses in those 2 sockets. Does it mean that this outlet is not wired to the house wiring?

Thanks for your reply!!
 
  #4  
Old 06-28-20, 04:22 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 57,102
Received 840 Votes on 787 Posts
Welcome to the forums.

It is not an outlet or receptacle.
It is an old two circuit fuse panel and is missing the two fuses.
You need to verify that it is 100% dead.
 
  #5  
Old 06-28-20, 04:34 PM
R
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2017
Posts: 8
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Thanks for your reply. I am picking up a non contact voltage tester tomorrow to make sure it is 100% dead.
 
  #6  
Old 06-28-20, 04:47 PM
CasualJoe's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: United States
Posts: 10,557
Received 66 Votes on 57 Posts
You need to also pick up a voltage tester.
 
  #7  
Old 06-28-20, 05:44 PM
R
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2017
Posts: 8
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
After testing them to see if they are live, I want to cap them off permanently and safely. Does anyone see any issues with that?
Thx 4 the replies.
 
  #8  
Old 06-28-20, 06:03 PM
Tolyn Ironhand's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Twin Cities, MN
Posts: 13,425
Received 152 Votes on 136 Posts
No issues with doing that.

Better yet, find the source and disconnect there. Then you can eliminate it entirely.
 
  #9  
Old 06-28-20, 06:05 PM
J
Member
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: welland ontario
Posts: 7,387
Received 202 Votes on 178 Posts
I would try and trace the cables back and find the source.
 
  #10  
Old 06-28-20, 08:32 PM
R
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2017
Posts: 8
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
The source of the wires SEEMS to be the main panel. Does it make sense that it coud be going directly back into the panel box? It is hard to follow the wire back.
 
  #11  
Old 06-29-20, 03:34 AM
pcboss's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 15,114
Received 69 Votes on 59 Posts
Being fed from an upstream panel certainly is probable. Turn off the fuse or breaker that you think feeds this and see if it goes dead. If so open the panel and disconnect the wiring to the old panel.
 
  #12  
Old 06-29-20, 04:06 AM
J
Member
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: welland ontario
Posts: 7,387
Received 202 Votes on 178 Posts
The source of the wires SEEMS to be the main panel. Does it make sense that it coud be going directly back into the panel box? It is hard to follow the wire back.
It make total sense. They are power cables. I would expect them to go to the panel. They need to be removed from the panel before you can abandon them
 
  #13  
Old 06-29-20, 05:56 AM
A
Member
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 3,988
Received 56 Votes on 54 Posts
... The source of the wires SEEMS to be the main panel. ...
No problem removing the subpanel (the fuse block possibly at one time long ago the main panel) but the wires behind must have their ends placed in an accessible box until you have proved that those wires are not connected at their other ends to a supra panel or junction box and therefore possibly live.
 
Reply
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: