wiring pole barn

Reply

  #1  
Old 07-25-20, 01:29 PM
H
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2009
Location: central
Posts: 47
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Smile wiring pole barn

am going to add (2) 20amp breakers in our pole barn because adding some tools. adding a air compressor and table saw. have a 20amp in box already and have be using a table saw and miter saw. I just wanted to spread out the load and move some outlets around. have been having problems finding 20amp outlets and gfi. I took the covers off the original outlets and found that they and the GFI are 15amps..off a 20amp breaker. what I would like to know now is how do I run these new outlets....all 15amps off a 20amp breaker or what....
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 07-25-20, 01:54 PM
Z
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 5,277
Received 107 Votes on 99 Posts
Code allows 15A receptacles (GFI or standard) on a 20A circuit. All GFI devices are rated for 20A feed-through.

The only time a 20A receptacle is required is if you either have a device that has a 20A plug (NEMA 5-20), or if it's a dedicated circuit with only one receptacle/plug on a 20A circuit. (Note that a duplex receptacle counts as 2, so doesn't fall into this requirement).
 
CasualJoe voted this post useful.
  #3  
Old 07-26-20, 07:51 AM
CasualJoe's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: United States
Posts: 10,640
Received 85 Votes on 75 Posts
All GFI devices are rated for 20A feed-through.
As are 15 amp rated duplex receptacles.
 
Zorfdt voted this post useful.
Reply
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: